Curry Roasted Chicken and Root Veggies

Hallelujah!  I can not tell you how long a process it has been getting this recipe.  The first time I made it, I snapped some photos and posted them on facebook…and a few of my friends immediately commented, demanding the recipe because the pictures made them hungry.  That is always such a nice feeling haha.  Well, because I was in a frenzy trying to make the dish fast, I had read off the ingredients to Mr. Rodgers as I made it, and he took notes on his phone.

Then a few days later we went with our “second family” to their lot.  A few of us got tired earlier than the boys, who were deeply engaged in a game of Kan Jam.  So we took one of the cars and started driving back to the house…unbeknownst to us, with two of the boys’ phones still on the hood.  So my recipe went for a flight down the street and never saw the light of day again.  Woe is me!  But I had promised to post it, so I made it again!  However, the next time I sat down to type it up, I couldn’t find where I had written it down!!

I was about to give up on being professional and precise and say things like “just throw some curry powder in a pan!!!”  But I gave it one last try today, and was flipping through my “brain book” for work…and found it tucked away beneath my pages of social media notes and product updates and meeting minutes.  Wooo hooo!!  So, without further a do…LET’S DO THIS!

Oh ps…I made this up myself, which is EXTREMELY exciting for me!  And I discovered how much I love the amazingly diverse and strong flavor of the different root veggies!  This was satisfying, filling, and oh so healthy!!  Try it out!

 

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 Whole Chicken, about 5 lbs
  • 2-3 Handfuls Baby Carrots (or roughly chopped big carrots)
  • 1 Sweet Potato, Diced
  • 3 Turnips, Chopped
  • 1 Onion, Cut Into Chunks
  • 5 + Garlic cloves, peeled (depending on how crazy you are about them)
  • 1/2 T Curry Powder
  • 1 T Red Curry Paste
  • 1 tsp Coriander
  • 1/2 tsp Cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Dry Mustard
  • Pinch of Cinnaomon (Husband LOVES cinnamon with his curry)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Squeeze of Cilantro Paste
  • 2 Tbsp Butter or Coconut Oil
  • 1 Large Can of Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 Can Coconut Milk

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 425*  Remove the chicken from the package, make sure there are no surprises inside, and rinse it inside and out.  Sprinkle it generously with salt and pepper.
  2. Gather all of your beautiful veggies and start chopping!! (Leave garlic cloves whole, but peel them!)
  3. Melt your butter or coconut oil in the bottom of a large pan or wok.  Whisk in all your spices and the cilantro paste.
  4. Add diced tomatoes and coconut milk and stir in.  You should have a nice creamy sauce.  Heat until it starts to bubble.
  5. Dump in your veggies.  Stir so they are all coated with the curry goodness.  Allow to cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until just starting to get tender.
  6. Place the chicken in a large casserole dish or cast iron skillet.  Dump the veggie mixture over the chicken, and spoon some of it into the cavity.
  7. Slide into your preheated oven and cook on 425* for 20-30 minutes.  Then turn the oven down to 375* and cook until chicken is browned and cooked through and veggies are to your desired tenderness…probably about an hour-hour and a half.

Preheat your oven to 425*  Remove the chicken from the package, make sure there are no surprises inside, and rinse it inside and out.  Sprinkle it generously with salt and pepper.

Curry Roasted Chicken 1

Gather all of your beautiful veggies and start chopping!!

Curry Roasted Chicken 2

You should have a decent pile when you are done! 🙂  Big piles of veggies make me happy!

Curry Roasted Chicken 3

Melt your butter or coconut oil in the bottom of a large pan or wok.

Curry Roasted Chicken 4

Whisk in all your spices and the cilantro paste.

Curry Roasted Chicken 5

Add diced tomatoes and coconut milk and stir in.

Curry Roasted Chicken 6

You should have a nice creamy sauce.  Heat until it starts to bubble.

Curry Roasted Chicken 7

Dump in your veggies.

Curry Roasted Chicken 8

Stir so they are all coated with the curry goodness.  Allow to cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until just starting to get tender.

Curry Roasted Chicken 9

Place the chicken in a large casserole dish or cast iron skillet.  Dump the veggie mixture over the chicken, and spoon some of it into the cavity.

Curry Roasted Chicken 10

Slide into your preheated oven and cook on 425* for 20-30 minutes.  Then turn the oven down to 375* and cook until chicken is browned and cooked through and veggies are to your desired tenderness…probably about an hour-hour and a half.

Curry Roasted Chicken 11

Now admire your handy work!

Curry Roasted Chicken 12

So many veggies!!  I seriously loved this meal.  Goes great with a hot pile of quinoa!

Curry Roasted Chicken 13

Let me know what you think!!

 

 

Leave a comment