Flavorful Bacon Wrapped Chorizo Meatloaf

Those of you who follow me regularly know that it has been just a few weeks since my first chorizo experience.  In summary?  Lifechanging.  Because I have now vowed to eat chorizo all the time.  It has a beautiful flavor, it can be used so many ways…and I looked it up…no sugar added!!  Wooohoooo!!  Can’t get much better than that!

 

So here is chorizo cooking, round two!!  This was awesome.  You may remember my fear of meatloaf, because of growing up watching shows where the wife thinks her husband loves it…but he secretly pays the kids to eat it and they all shovel it into the dogs mouth when mom isn’t looking.  I don’t know why that is so etched into my mind, but alas.  I have meatloaf phobia.  But this…oh this meatloaf!  Talk about flavor, and my husband really did love it!!  I would know because I don’t have any kids for him to pay, and there was no meatloaf remains on my dog’s fur or breath.  😉  So I will confidently declare this recipe Mr. Rodgers approved!  Though it is wrapped in bacon, so that’s kind of a no brainer.   Speaking of bacon, I ate bacon for lunch.  That’s healthy, right?  :/

Anyways, back to meatloaf!

 

This recipe is inspired by the great paleomg.com!  I had originally intended on making it almost exact to the recipe…but some of the ingredients I had bought for this recipe I some how had a brain fart and used up in other meals.  So when I got to this meatloaf I realized I didn’t have a bunch of things, so I got to be spontaneous…dig through my fridge and use whatever veggies and things I could find!  Which is fun.  Feel free to adapt it to what you have available too!  So….

 

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/2 lbs Ground Beef
  • 8 oz Chorizo (that is about the size of one large “link” in the set of two I get at my store)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 C Flax Meal
  • 2 Carrots, Chopped
  • 1/4 Onion, Chopped
  • 1 Celery Heart, Chopped
  • 3 Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • 4 Slices Bacon, Cut in half
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • Optional: Chipotle Mayo to Garnish (I would have done this if I had time to make an approved mayo that Mr. Rodgers can eat, but I was in a hurry!)

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350*
  2. Take all of your meatloaf ingredients (except the bacon and the mayo if you are using it!) and combine in a bowl.
  3. Dump this mixture into a loaf pan and form evenly.
  4. Lay the halved bacon across the entire top of the meatloaf, tucking it in as well as possible.
  5. Cook for about an hour and 15 minutes, then broil JUST long enough to get some crispiness to your bacon.  Broilers burn things FAST so watch it the whole time!

And bam!  You are ready to go with a meatloaf that husbands around the world will adore!! 😀

Let’s see some pictures!

Chorizo Loaf 1

Get your beef and chorizo!

Chorizo Loaf 2

Add the rest of your meatloaf ingredients (minus the bacon!).  Combine well!

Chorizo Loaf 3

Form it into a loaf pan.  Look at how it is marbled with the different meat colors, I love it!

Chorizo Loaf 5

Lay the halved bacon over the whole top surface of the meatloaf, tucking the edges in as well as you can.

Chorizo Loaf 6

Cook for an hour and 15 minutes or so, then broil just a few minutes to get crisp bacon!

Chorizo Loaf 7

Ahhhhhhh isn’t that just the best?!  I could go for some of that right now!!

 

Okay, so here are a few photos from the lovely Mr. Rodgers.  He was SO excited about this meatloaf that as I grabbed dishes and things to set the table, I turned around to him snapping pictures on his phone saying things like “Look at this steam!  You have to capture this before it goes away!!  LOOK at this!”  🙂  His enthusiasm made me so happy I just had to share some of his steam pictures…please forgive the slight clutter in the back ground!

image (3) image (7) image

Do you see the steam?!  🙂  Isn’t he just the cutest?!  And of course he WOULD take a picture with a guitar in the background.  😉

 

So there you go.  Yummy, healthy, paleo, Mr. Rodgers approved meatloaf with butt kickin flavor!  😀 😀 😀 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Flavorful Bacon Wrapped Chorizo Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

