Avocado Salsa Featuring Persian Lime Olive Oil

I must tell you a story.  A few Mondays ago (Mondays are our day off, so always turn into a date day extravaganza!), we decided to go visit one of our favorite towns called Clayton!  Clayton is about 20 minutes away, and is right on the Saint Lawrence river, which is home to the Thousand Islands.  Yes, the Thousand Islands is a place, not just a dressing!  We stroll by the Inn where the dressing was first served all the time!

So like I said, we love Clayton!  However, it is pretty small, and there is only so much to do…so we drove there with only a little bit of concern that we would not be able to find anything new to do, and that we would end up just wandering around aimlessly.  But, our cares must have wafted up to Heaven and been heard, because we had a blast at a new place we didn’t even know was there!  If you are a foodie like me (as I am assuming you are if you are reading this blog,) you will appreciate our little mini-adventure.  Right next to the River Rat Cheese Store we always stop by (SO MANY AWESOME CHEESES!), we noticed a new store front called The 1000 Islands Cruet.  So we decided to wander in.

Quickly we were greeted by a jolly gentleman who obviously loved his business.  What was that business?!  VINEGAR AND OLIVE OIL!  Most of you probably guessed that by the “Cruet” in the title…but I had no idea what a cruet was so I thought I’d mention it for the newbs like myself.  😉  Before long we had little paper cups and bits of bread and were trying all sorts of samples…mixing this with that, nerding out about what we would use it for, and hearing endless fun facts from the owner and his wife.  It was truly really fun!  And the different flavors they had were amazing!  We were mixing things like orange infused olive oil with chocolate balsamic vinegar!  I wish I could remember more, because the possibilities were endless and so tasty!

And so, to end our adventure we decided to choose one oil to bring home that we knew we would use often.  Our final decision?  Persian Lime Olive Oil.

So.  Good.  And incredibly useful!

I wanted to share with you the first thing I used this incredible oil for!  I’ve had to step up my game before it is all out, Mr. Rodgers is loving it on his salads and I can hardly keep up!  So here is my first creation:  Avocado Salsa!  Easy enough!

This recipe came out of necessity, as I was halfway through preparing my salsa for my fish taco bowls (coming soon) and I realized I had no lime juice.  Then…LIGHTBULB. <—Please read that in Gru’s voice.  I remembered this bottle of magicalness that I had hiding on my lazy susan.

 

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 Avocado, Diced
  • 1 Large or 2 Small Tomatoes, Diced
  • About 1/4 C Red Onion, Minced (Depending on taste, you can use more or less)
  • Good squeeze of cilantro paste, or a handful of fresh
  • 1-2 Tbsp Persian Lime Infused Olive Oil…just enough to coat everything with a limey flavor
  • Optional: A dash of red wine vinegar for an extra twang

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Dice all your veggies and toss together in a bowl.  Gently combine so your avocado doesn’t break down.
  2. Add oil, paste, and vinegar if you are using it.  Stir gently.  Taste, add salt or pepper if needed, and adjust any flavors as you desire.  Keep chilled until ready to serve.

 

And that’s it!  I will soon post the beautiful dish I used this salsa with, but until then, enjoy this just as it is!  Goes great on top of meat, with chips, as a dressing for a salad…whatever your mind can think up!

 

What would you use Persian Lime infused Olive Oil for?

Lime Oil 2

Lime Oil

Fish Taco 1

Fish Taco 12

Delicioso!  Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

