Breakfast Egg “Muffins”

Good morning!!

Okay, okay, you got me, it’s not morning!  But I tell you what…it WILL be a good morning when you make these!!

See what I did there?  😀

 

Anywho…these little fellows are super fun and cute!  And can even be made the night before to help your family get tasty protein on busy mornings!  That’s how I did it!  I came home from work at like midnight one Saturday night, and was amped up on the caffeine I had downed to get me through a 15 hour shift.  My husband had to be at the church before 7, and I know how stressful Sunday mornings can be for him.  On top of that, he has to resist the free pizza provided for the worship teams.  So I wanted to make sure he had a chance to get a good healthy breakfast in him to hold him over.  Cause let’s just be honest…who wants to wake up at 5 just to cook yourself breakfast?

I, for one, do not!

And so I decided to use my late night energy to make these for him.  They are my own version of Abel James’ “Pizza Muffins.”  I added some greens and beans because Mr. Rodgers is determined to get those with every meal.  And I also added a sauce for a “frosting” of sorts, and changed up the meat because I prefer sausage to pepperoni!  Are you ready for this recipe?!  Let’s do it!

 

Here’s what you need:

MUFFINS:

  • 6 Eggs
  • 4 tsp Coconut Oil, Melted
  • 2 Tbsp Grassfed Butter, Melted
  • 4 Tbsp Coconut Milk (Or Almond)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 2/3 C Almond Flour
  • 1/4 tsp Oregano
  • 1/4 tsp Basil
  • 1/4 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 C Uncooked Italian Sausage (I used two home made meatballs from my freezer!)
  • 1/4-1/2 C Sundried Tomatoes (Depending on your tastes.  I don’t like them to be too overpowering!)
  • 1/4 C Onion, Diced
  • 1/3 Can Black Beans

PIZZA SAUCE “FROSTING” (Adapted from Budget Savvy Diva)

  • 1 (7 1/2 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1/8 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon dried basil leaves
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch of black pepper
  • 1/2 whole bay leaf

 

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400*
  2. Heat a cast iron skillet over medium high heat.  Add in your sausage and cook until starting to brown.  I used two home made Italian meatballs I had frozen!  It worked so well!
  3. Add in onion and cook until translucent, stirring often.
  4. Add in beans, sundried tomatoes, and kale.  Cook and stir until kale is wilted and everything is warmed through.  Set aside to cool.
  5. Mix together eggs, coconut oil, butter, coconut milk, and salt.
  6. In a different bowl, mix together flour, spices, and baking powder.
  7. Combine your egg and flour mixture and mix until all is combined smoothly.
  8. Add your cooled meat mixture and fold in.
  9. Pour into a lined muffin pan and cook until done, about 15 minutes.
  10. While muffins are cooking, add all sauce ingredients into a small sauce pan over medium heat.  Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer, letting the flavors infuse until ready to “frost” on top of your eggy meat muffins!  ENJOY!

 

Egg Muffins 1

Egg Muffins 2

Egg Muffins 4

Egg Muffins 5

Egg Muffins 3

Egg Muffins 6]

Egg Muffins 8

Egg Muffins 9

Egg Muffins 10

Egg Muffins 11

Egg Muffins 12

Egg Muffins 13

 

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Egg “Muffins”

Leave a Reply

