Super Easy Cheater Pesto!

Pesto.  I lived so much of my life without it.  It is a travesty I am trying to correct by sharing it’s beauty with the world in my adult years!

My love for pesto is deep.  But being limited on time, and having many heart breaks over fresh herbs gone bad by delayed plans…I have not made it nearly as often as I’d like.

But lately, I’ve had pesto on the brain.  And then I had an idea.

LIGHTBULB!! (Insert Gru voice here)

Because of the constant fight to use my fresh herbs in time, I have lately been converting mostly to herb pastes.  Easy to use, stay good for weeks, taste the same (just herbs with a little oil!), and can be stirred into pretty much anything.  So as I sat, wishing for pesto, the thought occurred to me that the two main ingredients of pesto are herbs and oil.

In my fridge, I have herb pastes that are made with what again?  Herbs and oil.

A couple of minutes of research later, and I realized my life was about to get much easier, and much pesto-ier.  🙂

So here ya go.  Super easy cheater pesto!

 

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/4 C Basil Paste
  • 1/4 C Parsley Paste
  • 1/2 tsp each of dried: mint, oregano, and thyme
  • 1/4 C Pine nuts
  • 2-4 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Clove Garlic
  • Salt and pepper to taste…it doesn’t take much!

And here’s how you do it, easy peasy:

  1. Put everything but oil in a food processor.
  2. Blend until smooth.
  3. Stream in olive oil until you have desired consistency.

 

YOU’RE DONE YOU’RE DONE YOU’RE DONE!  Note:  we stay away from dairy so we don’t use parmesan, but feel free to add it if that’s how you roll!

 

Peectures!

Photo-24

 

Step one…

Photo-25

Step two…

Photo-26

Step DONE!

Now tell me…what is your favorite use for pesto?!  I’ d love some inspiration!

 

3 thoughts on “Super Easy Cheater Pesto!

  1. I love pesto in pasta, but my absolute favorite is pizza! Swap out the regular red sauce for some pesto and mmm. Good times in belly-land.

  2. Pingback: Chicken Bacon Pesto Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

