High Protein Paleo Breakfast

Also known as the best dang omelet I’ve ever made (or eaten) in my life!!

Some of you may remember my recent story about the horrifying breakfasts I found Mr. Rodgers making because he was rushed and going for protein and health content…completely ignoring the TASTE factor.

This omelet is another result of my horror and determination…horror that I had allowed him to eat that stuff that he was creating, and determination to give him his taste back!!

 

And boy!  Did I ever nail it with this one!!  Sorry, I don’t usually brag, I promise I’m not arrogant…just really excited, yay!  Just so you know…all of this is coming from a person that traditionally doesn’t like omelets!  So without further ado…

 

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 Tbsp Grassfed Butter (Kerrygold)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/4 C Onion, Diced
  • 1 Clove Garlic, Minced
  • 2 Italian Sausage Patties, Diced (Check out my homemade recipe!)
  • About 1/3 Small Can of Tomato Sauce
  • Squeeze of Basil Paste (or use fresh if you have it)
  • 1/3 can Black Beans
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Avocado (For garnish)

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Crack eggs into a bowl and whisk.
  2. Melt half the butter in a pan over medium heat.  Add in onion and sauté until transparent.  Add garlic, stir, and sauté an additional 30 seconds or so.
  3. Add sausage patties, black beans, tomato sauce, and basil and stir, cooking for 2 minutes or so, until everything is heated through and the flavors can infuse a bit.  Put in a bowl and set aside.
  4. Melt the rest of the butter in your pan over medium heat.  Crack eggs into a bowl and whisk together, then dump in heated pan.
  5. Cook until starting to solidify most of the way in.
  6. Spoon as much filling as you can fit on one half of the egg “disk,” then fold the empty side over to make a little pocket!
  7. Carefully slide out of the pan onto your plate and garnish with sliced avocado.  Eat and be amazed!!  So much protein in one breakfast…AND so much flavor!!  BOOM BABY!!

Photo-22 Photo-23

 

 

One thought on “High Protein Paleo Breakfast

  1. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

