Saucy Paleo Pot Roast

Haha.  I really wasn’t trying to be inappropriate with the title.  But it still makes me laugh!  I am so mature!! In fact, I am mature to the point that as soon as I finish this post…I am going to curl up with a puppy, a blankie, and watch a Disney movie because I have the house all to myself for the next four hours!!  Anyways.  Back to saucy pot roast.  I call it that because this recipe does in fact make a lot of sauce, one that you MUST NOT throw away!!  I poured mine right into a tupperware and put it in the freezer, and a week later had a fantastic meal completely transformed but with the same leftover sauce!

I have made a decision in my life.  I am in love with pot roast.  It just may be my favorite.  It’s so easy…and almost impossible to mess up.  I have lost my faith  in a lot of crock pot meals.  But never pot roast.  Never.  NEVER!  Yummmm.

So this is a pot roast recipe, just ever so slightly adapted from the great Abel James, Fat Burning Man.  It sounded so good I could barely find anything to change, so I just added a little spice with my favorite: Red Pepper Flakes.  Yeah baby!  Oh, and I left my roasts whole…he chunked his up.  🙂

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 4 lbs (ish) Chuck Roast (I used 2)
  • 32 oz Canned Diced Tomatoes
  • 12 oz Tomato Paste
  • 12 oz Tomato Sauce
  • 8 Cloves of Garlic (Man after my own heart!), mined
  • 1 Onion, Chopped
  • 4 Carrots, Sliced and Peeled
  • 2 Stalks Celery, Chopped
  • 1 Tbsp Dried Oregano
  • 1 Tbsp Dried Thyme (Alternately you could substitute those both out for 2 Tbsp of homemade Italian Seasoning)
  • Salt and Black Pepper to taste
  • 4 Bay Leaves
  • 1/2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes (or to taste)

 

And here’s how you do it:  It’s REEEEAAAAALLLLLY hard! <—–Sarcasm!!

  1. Place your roast(s) in the bottom of your crock pot.
  2. Combine all other ingredients in a bowl, making sure they are mixed up real nice.
  3. Pour sauce all over meat, set the crock pot on low, and forget it for 8-10 hours.  I’ll show you what I served it with in a couple days!  A-ma-za-zing.

 

Peectures:

Photo-11

Get your lovely chunks of meat.  Gaaaaaah what could make you happier than that?!

Photo-14

Stack them in the bottom of your crock pot…

Photo-12

Put all the other ingredients together in a large bowl…

Photo-13

And mix those suckers up!!!

Photo-15

Dump it all over the roast…set it and forget it!!  Preferably low for 8-10 hours.

Photo-16

Pot roast is really hard to get a nice picture of, since it is tender meat falling apart smothered in things of similar color since they’ve all cooked together.  But I think you get the idea.  Delicious!

Photo-17

Nothing is quite as satisfying as a pot roast!!  Go try it!!  And remember!!! SAVE THAT SAUCE!!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Saucy Paleo Pot Roast

  1. This was soooo yummy! And easy, which I love. Because, lets face it, my life is chaos with 4 little people needing me all.day.long. The whole family enjoyed this fall apart roast.

    Then we had leftovers with garlic mashed potatoes. And we still have leftovers to put in baked potatoes. (I know, Tabs, potatoes aren’t great for you, but they fit the budget). Definitely a keeper for our family.

Leave a Reply

