Fresh Strawberry Salsa

When looking back at my life, I just have to laugh sometimes.  For example.  Looking back at the day when Mr. Rodgers shared his decision with me to change his eating habits.  Being young in age and in my health knowledge,  I was convinced that I ate great!  You know, the whole…potato is a healthy vegetable, a couple Tbsps of brown sugar in a sauce is fine, “as long as I’m not going through a drive through I’m doing good” mindset.  But when he started talking about all natural, totally organic, super strict stuff…I thought my new found love for experimenting in the kitchen was over.  How would I ever try all those fantastic recipes I had pinned on Pinterest if I had to follow these rules?  I thought my days of fun food were over.  I thought the days of flavor and exploration were done.  “Hello tasteless baked chicken every day” was my fear.

And now I look back and laugh.  It’s like a whole new world  has been opened up to me…flavors I didn’t even realize existed!!  I don’t see rules, I see challenges.  Those pins I thought I lost?  They are just canvases waiting to be adapted into healthy, nourishing, flavor packed meals.  When Mr. Rodgers and I do really good at being consistent (let’s be honest, we are far from perfect, though he has been kicking butt and dropping pounds the past two weeks!!), we realize that those other foods really were devoid of true flavor.  So I smile at the younger me with tears in her eyes over a passion she thought she was losing…and rejoice that I listened to him so I could discover a whole new level of said passion!

ANYWHO!  This recipe brought all that rambling to my brain.  Because I never would have thought that some day I would be making a fresh strawberry salsa!  Delicious!  It was adapted from the WONDERFUL Caveman Feast app by Abel James.  You should all download it.  Its organized.  It’s pretty.  It’s healthy and easy!  For this meal we used the salsa on meat (recipe soon to come.)  But I would love to find a healthy way to make a form of cinnamon chip (Ideas?  Anyone?) and eat it as a snack.  Sweet.  Tart.  A little heat.  Perfection.

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 2 Cups Strawberries, Finely Diced
  • 1/2 Sm Red Onion, Finely Diced (I usually do red onion to taste, or till it “looks right.”  You can tell when there is enough by the ration of strawberry to onion!)
  • 1 Jalapeño, or 1/2 Serrano (I tend to enjoy the serrano flavor better, but jalapeños are great too!)
  • 1 Lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp Strawberry Balsamic Vinegar (Optional!  We have some from our first anniversary trip to Lake Placid, almost two years ago!  It just seemed fitting to add to a strawberry salsa!)

And here’s how you do it!

  1. Now here is the main difference between my version and our good friend Abel’s.  I like my sauces more chunky and “pico de gallo” style, so I diced everything.  However, the original says to pulse in a food processor till you have a smoother sauce.  I will let you decide your preference.  🙂  If your strawberries aren’t super sweet, then the food processor may be better so you won’t have chunks of tart strawberry.  But I love getting distinct flavors in different pieces, and mixing everything together before hand to get a sort of “marinating” action.  All that said, here is where you prep your veggies and fruits!
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Season with salt and pepper if needed.  Refrigerate until serving.  OR put it all in a food processor and blend away!!

 

How easy was that?!  And how fancy does it look?!  I love it!  What would you use this for?!

 

Photo

Mixin’ mixin’ mixin’…

Photo-2

Strawberry Salsa…who woulda thought?!

Photo-3

4 thoughts on “Fresh Strawberry Salsa

Leave a Reply

