Sauteed Onions and Asparagus

I have discovered a deep love for asparagus in the last few years.  I don’t know why it took me so long to realize it.  But asparagus.  Is.  Amazing.  I love it to the point that, at family gatherings at my pastor’s house (I love having an adopted New York family!), they occasionally make asparagus.  And usually after all the boys clear out from the dinner table to go watch the game…I am left chatting with Carolyn and eating the rest of the asparagus.  No matter how much is left.  It’s happened I tell you!  So I am on a quest to see how many different ways I can discover to eat it!!  If you have a good recipe please send it to me!!

This one came completely out of my brain.  I wanted something a little different for my asparagus but still warm and full of flavor.  This is what I came up with.  Sautéed Onions and Asparagus!!

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 lb Asparagus, trimmed
  • 1/2 Onion, chopped (I used red, but either will make a lovely flavor)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp Kerrygold Butter (We use Kerrygold because it is made from the milk of grass fed cows, and is recommended by Abel James, “The Fat Burning Man.”)
  • 1 Tbsp White Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Aminos
  • 1 C Chicken Stock
  • 1/2 Tbsp Lemon Juice

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Melt your butter in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Add onions and stir, cooking until tender starting to brown.  It will take a while, so don’t rush it!  My red onions were done in about 10 minutes, but white or yellow will take longer.  But the slower you cook it out, the better the flavor will be.
  2. Add garlic and stir in, cooking for another minute or so, until fragrant.
  3. Add Asparagus and integrate into the onions.
  4. Add Chicken Stock to deglaze your pan.  Stir in the remaining ingredients and continue cooking, stirring often, until asparagus is bright green and tender crips…8-10 minutes.
  5. Heap on a plate, making sure you have some onions on top.  And enjoy!!

 

Peectures!!

Photo (7)

Caramelize your onions in the butter…

Photo (8)

Add asparagus.  Deglaze the pan with chicken stock, and stir in other liquids.

Photo (9)

Continue cooking, stirring often, until asparagus is tender crisp and liquids have reduced.

Photo (10)

Yummy!!!!

Photo (12)

 

One thought on “Sauteed Onions and Asparagus

Leave a Reply

