Apple Dijon Burgers

Holy cow.  For real…these were probably the best burgers I have ever made!  I was so incredibly surprised and pleased by the outcome!  I wish I could describe it to you better…but it was seriously beyond words.  I do, however, have a story that helps display the beauty of these patties!!

The day I made these was one of the many days I had to work till late.  My manager/friend was there as well.  When it came time for my break, I popped one of these bad boys on a plate and was telling her how good they are.  However, when I told her that I had put apple in them, she simply told me “you’re weird!”  And yes, yes that does sound weird.  Apple in beef?  But THEN I put that plate in the microwave and started warming it up.  And the smell started filling the store.  And she started sniffing…and finally exclaimed “WHAT IS THAT SMELL?!”  I replied simply with “that is the food you just called weird.”  Then for several minutes I could not hush her up about how amazing it smelled.  I think secretly she wanted some.  😉  But I was a bad…starving…friend and gobbled it all up in 2.3 seconds.  😉  I just couldn’t help it, cause they were so jealous.  Somehow the mixture of the apple and onion give it a sweet barbecue sort of flavor, which is absolutely my favorite!  Alright, let’s get down to it!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 lb Grass Fed Beef
  • 1/2 to whole apple, depending on the size.  I used about 3/4 of a standard sized apple.  🙂
  • 1/2 to 1/2 Red Onion, depending on size.
  • 2 Garlic cloves
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • Slat and Pepper
  • 2 Tbsp Flax Meal
  • 2-4 Eggs

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Chop the Apple and Red Onion into chunks.  Smoosh and peel the garlic cloves.  Place them all in a food processor (in batches if necessary), and pulse until minced.
  2. In a bowl, mix together everything but the eggs.
  3. Form into 4 patties and place on a wax paper-covered plate.  Make a little dent in the middle of the patties, and place in the freezer for about 10 minutes…just to firm them up a bit.
  4. Heat your grill or grill pan to medium, and grill burgers for 5-6 minutes per side.
  5. Meanwhile, fry your eggs to your liking.  I like them a little runny in the middle!
  6. Top your burgers with an egg and anything else you desire!  Now devour!!  What you think?!

Peectures:

Photo (11)

Place garlic cloves and chopped apples and onion in a food processor

Photo (12)

Pulse until everything is minced and blended.

Photo (13)

Combine everything but the eggs in a bowl.

Photo (14)

Form into 4 even patties, and make a small indent in the middle of each.  Toss in the freezer for 10 minutes or so, just to get them firmed up a bit.

Photo (15)

Toss onto a medium heat grill or pan.

Photo (16)

Cook about 6 minutes and flip, cook another 5 to 6 minutes.  Fry eggs how you please.

Photo (17)

Present how you please!

Photo (18)

I was rushed for time (I feel like I always say that haha), so I just did a nice leaf of romaine and topped with the egg.  Abel James, the originator of this idea, used sautéed onions, which is a WONDERFUL idea!  I think bacon would be a good idea too!!  Yummy!

Photo (20)

I was afraid I over cooked my egg, but it turned out just how I like it!

Photo (19)

How yummy is that?!

5 thoughts on “Apple Dijon Burgers

Leave a Reply

