My Monster Green Smoothie

Yes, I have finally jumped on the green smoothie boat!  I used to just do fruit smoothies, sweetened with orange juice and a little coconut.  But I had to come back down to earth and be honest with myself.  They just didn’t make me feel good.  I would legitimately get acid reflux from the insane amount of fruit I would ingest, and we all know that orange juice really isn’t that great for us!  So in our journey with Abel James I decided to try out the green ones.  And I decided…I like them!  I thought they would freak me out because of the texture…I am more into juicing veggies.  But it makes it so much more filling and I really do love it!  And I feel GREAT afterwards.  It’s so hard to explain, but I usually tell Mr. Rodgers this way: “My insides feel clean!!”  Haha, can anyone relate?!

Also…I felt the need to post a healthy drink to balance out my last post…the delicious but not so nutritious Fireball Apple Cider.  We all need treats now and then.  😉

I have tweaked this smoothie quite a lot, and I think I am finally at the place where it is ready to share!  And PLEASE!  I would love to try your recipes too, so feel free to share!!

 

So, here’s what you need:  (This will make enough for 2 people for a light breakfast…or if you are like me and don’t have a chance stop and eat at work…it will be good to fill up your cup a few times and sip on as you are running hither and to like a mad woman trying to get things done ;))

  • 8 oz Coconut Milk (Or Almond, or the 50/50 mix.  I’ve used them all!)
  • 2-3 Good handfuls Spinach
  • 2-3 Good handfuls Kale Leaves (you don’t want big stems…they’re pretty bitter)
  • 1/2 Cucumber, Thickly Sliced
  • 1 Small Banana
  • 1/4 C Blueberries (Frozen)
  • 1/2 C Strawberries (Frozen)
  • 1 Scoop Whey Protein (Optional…if you can find some without added crap!)

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Pour your coconut milk into the bottom of the blender.  Add your spinach and kale.  Mine usually fills the blender to the top.
  2. Blend until all the leaves are gone and you have a nice green liquid at the bottom (you will be amazed how the greens shrink!)
  3. Add your cucumber, banana, blueberries, strawberries, and whey if you are using it.  Blend until smooth.  Pour into a cup, drink, and feel how squeaky clean your insides are, haha!

 

Peectures!!

Photo (2)

Measure your coconut milk into the bottom of the blender.

Photo (3)

Add all your greens!  See what I mean?  Filled right to the top!

Photo (6)

Blend till you have nothing but a nice green liquid at the bottom!

Photo (7)

Add in your banana, cucumber, and berries…

Photo (8)

Blend (I tried to get an action shot, it didn’t work as well as I had hoped).

Photo (9)

Pour…admire…drink!  So much healthy going into your body right now!!!

Photo (10)

Yay!!!

 

5 thoughts on “My Monster Green Smoothie

  1. I also love green smoothies now but am a beginner too but I don’t like to use coconut milk in my smoothies because it has too much fat. I prefer to use water or home-made unsweetened plant based milks!

    • Ohhh! I’d be interested in home made plant based milks! We love coconut milk, it makes it creamier and is a great source of calcium! We have come to believe that not all fat is bad! But you definitely have to be careful. Your smoothies sound so fun, I’m still just testing the waters. But this one I love!

  2. Welcome to the green smoothie train! I would starve w/o green smoothies – or, more precisely, I would overload on carbs and fats and all those “standard” breakfasts I grew up on, and my body would starve nutritionally!

    My standard green smoothie protocol (literally, breakfast at least 6 times per week for the last year and a half!):

    For one serving (ie: one magic bullet cup)
    1 good sized handful of spinach or kale (approx 2 cups loose)
    1 banana
    2 Tbsp of nuts or seeds (raw almonds, raw pecans, raw cashews, raw sunflower seeds, raw walnuts, etc)
    2 Tbsp water
    – blend until smooth – and then keep blending a little extra, to make it REALLY smooth and creamy as the nuts/seeds get pulverized!
    Add:
    1 “round” fruit or equivalent (ie: mango, pear, apple, grapefruit, peach, 3/4-1 cup berries or pineapple, etc – I try to go with whatever is in season, so right now I’ve been on a pear and citrus fruits kick)
    blend until smooth (add more water if using frozen fruits)

    Screw lid on, throw in purse, and take to work for a breakfast on the go!

Leave a Reply

