Amazingly Delicious Quinoa Salmon Patties with Caper Sauce

Yum!  I was super surprised by these.  I have always been freaked out by seafood “patties.”  I don’t know why.  I’ve just been afraid to try.  Silly, I know.  But this recipe was product of a two week period where we had to stretch our funds as far as possible.  I had two cans of salmon from my foss (yes, I spelled that wrong on purpose…because she was my friend-boss, so we shortened it to foss.  And I was her fanny…cause I was her friend-nanny.  Yeah, haha.  It’s a special place in a person’s life, being their fanny).  Anywho…when the family I nannyed for moved to California, they gave me free rein to raid their cupboards.  That was back in May and I am still eating food from them 😀 SO…wow, rabbit trails today, sorry.  I had these cans of salmon in my pantry, and since funds were low I decided to be brave and use them up to save some grocery money.  And these beautiful patties were born.  Really, I should be thankful that we ran out of money last month, because I may never have taken the plunge and tried these…and never known how wonderful they are!

These were adapted quite a bit from tasteofhome.com.  A lovely recipe, just tweaked to our health goals…and to use what we had in our house, to be honest hehe.

 

So, here’s what you need:

For Patties:

  •  1 Stalk Celery
  • 1/2 Small Onion
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 3 Tbsp Butter or Coconut Oil, divided
  • 1/4 C Cooked Quinoa (I used organic red)
  • 2 Cans Salmon, Bones picked out
  • 1/3 C + 1/4 Cish Flax Meal (My favorite new bread crumb sub)
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 3 tsp Dijon
  • Pepper
  • Pinch of Cayenne

For Caper Sauce:

  • 6 Tbsp Mayo (I like the Olive Oil kind)
  • 2 tsp Capers, drained
  • 2 tsp Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon Mustard

 

Now, I had originally planned to put an egg in there to bind everything together, and realized that my dear husband had eaten them all for breakfast.  However, as long as I was careful these stuck together pretty well…but if you want to change it up and add an egg feel free to do so!

Alright!  Now, how you do it!

  1. Start by making your sauce so the flavors can infuse and it can chill!  Simply mix together all the sauce ingredients until well combined, cover, and stick in the fridge.
  2. Prep your veggies…chop chop mince mince yeah!  Heat butter or coconut oil (about a Tbsp) in a skillet over medium heat.  Saute onion and celery for a few minutes, until starting to become tender and translucent.  Add garlic, stir, and cook for another minute or so until everything is tender crisp but garlic is not burnt.
  3. In a bowl, dump all patty ingredients (just the first 1/3 C of the flax meal), including the veggies you just sautéed.  Mix with your hands until combined.
  4. Form into patties and carefully coat with remaining flax meal.  Honestly, I did this by placing them on a plate covered in wax paper and sprinkling them with flax meal, flipping them, and sprinkling again.  Place in fridge for 10 minutes to set up.
  5. Heat remaining butter or coconut oil over medium heat.  Cook patties for about 5 minutes per side, until they have a lovely golden brown color and are heated through.
  6. Arrange on a plate, add a dollop of the cool and tart caper sauce, and be amazed!  So delicious, protein packed but still light and…I’d venture to say…pretty darn good for you!  The only thing I’d be iffy on is the mayo, and you don’t use much…and a lot of health people are good with mayo in moderation so yes…feel good about this meal!

Hope you guys love these as much as I did!  I will never judge salmon patties again, hehe!

Peectures:

Photo (10)

Combine all sauce ingredients and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Photo (11)

Chop and mince veggies and saute until tender crisp.

Photo (12)

Place all patty ingredients in a bowl (only first 1/3 C flax meal…and don’t forget to take the spines out of the fish…they freak me out!)

Photo (13)

Combine!

Photo (14)

Form into patties and place on wax paper covered plate.  Coat with remaining flax meal, however it works best for you.  I sprinkled them so I didn’t have to move them around to much.

Photo (15)

Refrigerate for about 10 minutes.

Photo (16)

Heat remaining butter or coconut oil over medium heat.  Carefully add patties and cook for five minutes, or until starting to brown.

Photo (17)

Flip and repeat with the other side.  Please excuse the bad lighting in my kitchen.  Gotta love the awkward over-the-stove lights that you can’t see without but make the coloring awful without!

Photo (18)

Plate over your favorite side…I did a steaming hot pile of quinoa!  I could imagine it would also be great over a pile of greens, or some gluten free noodles or crusty bread (not that I encourage you eating bread, but let’s just be honest…it’d be tasty haha).  Drizzle some sauce over the top, and indulge!  Holy yum I can’t even describe how wonderful the flavor was on these!  The hot and soft on the inside, crispy on the outside morsels topped with the creamy tart sauce…it was just the perfect combo and I think you should try it.

Let me know what you think guys!!

 

One thought on “Amazingly Delicious Quinoa Salmon Patties with Caper Sauce

Leave a Reply

