Jesus’ Birthday Cake (Rainbow Poke Cake): On the 8th Day of Christmas…

…my true blog gave to me a refreshing dessert recipe!!

Yes, my family call this Jesus’ Birthday Cake!  I cannot remember a Christmas growing up without this cake.  It’s Uncle Bob’s favorite!!  Really…I think it’s everybody’s favorite!!  Here is a picture that my mom sent me of my brother about to enjoy this cake for his birthday…because it is so good we ask for it more often than just Christmas!!

photo 1 (1)Anyways!!  Back to the holidays!  I have such beautiful memories with this cake.  All the cousins and uncles and aunts would gather in a circle around the little table in my Grandma and Grandpa’s dining room, and we would legitimately sing happy birthday to Jesus, then the youngest kids would blow out the candles.  Then we would all try hard not to clobber each other for the first piece…you know, in the spirit of Christmas and everything.  🙂  Unlike a lot of desserts, this is cool and light and makes your insides feel good instead of heavy.  You gotta try it!  And IT’S BEAUTIFUL!!

Now, if you don’t believe me on the whole…this has been a tradition FOREVER thing, check this out.  I was asking my mom for a picture of this cake because I knew in the madness that is currently my life, I would have no chance to bake one myself.  And this is what she sent me…

photo 5This is the original recipe out of a magazine that my mom got…she believes it is from her FIRST Christmas with my dad.  How precious is that?!  And now you get to share in this!  Welcome to the family 😉

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 Box Super Moist White Cake Mix
  • 1 (3 oz) Box Raspberry Jell-o (Or your favorite red flavor)
  • 1 (3 oz) Box Lime Jell-O (MY FAVORITE)
  • 2 Cups Boiling Water
  • 1 Container Whipped Cream

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Bake white cake mix (as directed)  in two round cake pans.
  2. Let cool for 10 minutes.  Remove from pans and cool completely.
  3. Return cake to pans.  Using a big fork, poke holes all over the cake!!  If you look close at the picture, it says to do this in 1/2 inch intervals.  I’ve never paid that close attention to it (poking the holes was always my job!).  I just poked the poo out of those cakes!
  4. Bring your 2 C of water to a boil.
  5. Pour half of the boiling water over your first flavor of Jell-O and whisk until it is dissolved.  Pour evenly over one of the cakes, so that it can soak down into the holes.  Repeat with other flavor.
  6. Put your cakes into the fridge until Jell-O is set, 3-4 hours.
  7. When ready to assemble, dip the bottom of the pans in warm water for 10 seconds, then gently shake onto a platter.
  8. Put a layer of whipped cream on top of whatever color you want on the bottom (usually raspberry for us), and top with the other.  You may need to slide a few toothpicks in at this point to keep the layers together.  Just warn everybody if you do!  Traditionally, the person that finds the toothpick has to do dishes or make the cake next year 😛
  9. Frost with the rest of the whipped cream and put into your fridge until ready to serve!!  My mom usually put it on a beautiful crystal cake stand, and topped the cake with little fake holly sprigs.  BEAUTIFUL!!

Edit 1/8/14…my mommy sent me pictures of the process just for you, my faithful readers!!  So here ya go!!

P1070998

Bake white cake mix (as directed)  in two round cake pans.  Let cool for 10 minutes.  Remove from pans and cool completely.  Return cake to pans.  Using a big fork, poke holes all over the cake!!  If you look close at the picture, it says to do this in 1/2 inch intervals.  I’ve never paid that close attention to it (poking the holes was always my job!).  I just poked the poo out of those cakes!  Bring your 2 C of water to a boil.  Pour half of the boiling water over your first flavor of Jell-O and whisk until it is dissolved.  Pour evenly over one of the cakes, so that it can soak down into the holes.  Repeat with other flavor.  Put your cakes into the fridge until Jell-O is set, 3-4 hours.

P1080001

When ready to assemble, dip the bottom of the pans in warm water for 10 seconds, then gently shake onto a platter.

P1070999

Place first layer on a cake stand.

P1080002

Spread a layer of whipped cream on top…

P1080003

Place second layer on top and secure with toothpicks if needed.

P1080004

Frost with the rest of the whipped cream…and with something pretty like my mommy does!!

P1080005

So pretty!  Place in fridge until ready to serve!

P1080008

Doesn’t that look DELICIOUS!

P1080007

P1080006

Feel free to try this with different flavor combos, and celebrate!!  😀

4 thoughts on “Jesus’ Birthday Cake (Rainbow Poke Cake): On the 8th Day of Christmas…

  1. Your Uncle Bob waits a full year for this cake. This year he was so happy to get a huge piece! We missed you at Christmas by the way. It seems the weather would have given you a challenge however. Love you girlly!

  2. This year was no exception, Sis! Uncle Bob got his piece slightly after the Happy Birthday song to Jesus. Kinley got to blow out the candles. I sent a large portion home with Bob! You do such a great job telling stories and incorporating them into your posts. You warm my heart Mrs. Rodgers. 🎂

Leave a Reply

