Colorful Winter Salad. On The Second Day of Christmas…

…my true blog gave to me…a light and healthy salad recipe!!

I know those aren’t usually words you would associate with Christmas.  But our Kirkwood Christmas feasts ALWAYS had a salad!!  And it really is nice to have the lightness to break up all the fantastic other goodies you will be eating.  It will make you feel better about your meal too.  😉

This salad is a recent addition to our collection of deliciousness at the Rodgers household.  It.  Was.  Amazing.  In fact, I brought it to the church so I could leave some for Mr. Rodgers!  I walked out of the room for a minute and came back to both secretaries saying “OH MY GOSH WHAT IS THIS?!” and “Tabby that salad looks amazing!!!”  Hehehe.  Those moments make me happy!!  I also brought a big plateful to my manager, who loved it!!

I got this lovely little recipe from simplylovefood.com.  I was so intrigued by the title.  “Winter Salad.”  Salads usually seem so…summery.  So the thought of a winter salad made me excited!!  And it definitely didn’t disappoint!!  A few alterations and I had a huge, fantastic, delicious salad!!  And did I mention that it was beautiful?!  It adds such color and prettiness to your spread!

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 2 Romaine Hearts, chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 3 Large Handfuls of an Herb Mix, Spring Mix, Spinach…your choice!
  • Seeds from one Pomegranate
  • 1 Pear, thinly sliced
  • 1 Apple, thinly sliced
  • 1 Avocado, thinly sliced
  • 1/4-1/2 Red Onion, thinly Sliced
  • Feta Cheese To Taste
  • 1/4-1/2 Toasted Pecan Halves

Dressing: (Depending on the size your salad turns out you may need to adjust the amount of dressing)

    2/3 C Olive Oil

  • 1/2 tsp Garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp White Wine Vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 tsp Lemon Zest
  • 1 tsp Agave Nectar or Honey (I’ve heard some iffy things on agave lately.  Sad face.)
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Pepper

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Rinse and prep your veggies.
  2. Put the romaine and your “mix” or spinach in a large bowl and toss to combine.
  3. Top with all the other salad ingredients.
  4. Combine all the dressing ingredients in a bowl and drizzle over your serving of salad, or over the whole thing if you are serving to a group!

Bam!!  How easy is that?!?!

Photo (4)How pretty is that?!

photo 1Don’t you want to eat it?!

photo 3Yummy!!!

Photo (3)

🙂

photo 2

Leave a Reply

