Grinch Skewers! Welcome to the 12 Days of Christmas!

On the first day of Christmas my true blog gave to me…a really great idea for appetizers for my Christmas party!!

I promised you I was working on something special; well here it is!!  The 12 Days of Christmas, Feeding Mr. Rodgers style!!!  When it comes to holiday entertaining, food is key!!  I was going to say food is everything, but that’s just not true cause it is a season for love and fun and appreciation and giving and especially faith!!  But when the time comes to gather and celebrate all of those things…its just not a party without fun holiday food!  Planning menus can be stressful for parties, especially when you are like me and want everything to be perfect AND home made!!  So here are my 12 Days of Christmas…my gift to you to make it that much less stressful.  Cut down on planning time, but still offering fun home made recipes that I can guarantee are DELICIOUS!!

There are so many things wonderful about these little appetizers!  For one…they are the Grinch.  I mean, come on.  How can you get any better than that?!  I LOVE planning themed parties.  I usually go all out for them, but for this party, I had no time!!  And I wasn’t exactly hosting either.  So because of lack of time and the complete relaxed nature of this annual Grinch party with our favorite people (love you Hopper family!), I did not make a green Christmas punch…or green cookies…or guacamole…or all sorts of green foods like I wanted.  But when I found this idea…all of that melted away and I knew it was PERFECT and better than all those things combined!!  I can’t say enough about how fun they were!!  They were tasty…yum!!  They were super cute…awwwe.  They are decently healthy…all fruit except for the tiny little marshmallow.   And they are fun!!  They bring people together, because building them is a great family/friend activity!!  All things considered…you should make these!!  Oh, and they’re easy!!

So, here’s what you need:

  • Green Grapes
  • Bananas, Sliced 1/4 – 1/2 inch
  • Strawberries (Sliced in half or whole, however you please!  We started with whole, but ended with halves to stretch our strawberries!)
  • Mini Marshmallows
  • Toothpicks

And here’s how you do it!!  It’s so easy!!

  1. Take your toothpick and stick a marshmallow on one end.
  2. Slide on a strawberry (half or whole) upside down until the tip is touching the marshmallow.
  3. Slide a slice of banana up until it touches the strawberry.
  4. Slide a grape up until it touches the banana and BAM!  You have a little Grinch head with a Santa hat!!  Yaaaay!!!

 

Here’s the little cuties, perfect for snacking while you watch Christmas shows or to keep people happy while your holiday main course finishes!!  Yaaaay!

Photo (1)So many little Grinches!!

And here is the fun we had making them!!  The Hopper kids were so excited to help me with these that they were climbing all over each other!

1479012_10151884840274753_496465026_nWe had so much fun!!

Photo (2)Oh my gosh aren’t they so cute and tasty looking?!  🙂  Let me know how they go over at your Christmas party!!

5 thoughts on “Grinch Skewers! Welcome to the 12 Days of Christmas!

Leave a Reply

