Crispy Kale Chips

I had heard my sisters in law rave about the kale chips they would make, and how yummy yummy they were.  Honestly, I was a little skeptical at first.  (Sorry girls!).  It didn’t help that my first experience with kale was juicing after Mr. Rodgers and I watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly dead.  I was not a big fan of raw kale juice…even if it was mixed with a little bit of apple haha!  But if you are one of my original, faithful followers you will remember how I did a 180* turn around on my opinion of kale as soon as I made Kale Pesto and put it on a Cauliflower Crust Pizza.  Best meal ever!!  Still…the idea of a kale chip was a little scary for me!

Then I went home for a visit to be with my family when my grandmother died last month.  As we sat down to a usual Family FEAST…(Kirkwoods don’t make meals, they make feasts!)…they began to pass around the kale chips made by my beautiful sister in law Becca, who I lovingly refer to as “Jim.”  Yeah, it’s a long story.  So, I decided to try a few.  I tasted them.  And tried a few more.   And a few more…and was really sad when I realized the bowl was empty because everyone else was enjoying them as much as me!  😦  But even still, I am so happy for the experience, because now I know…I LOVE KALE CHIPS!  I am a “salty” lover, and the crunchiness along with the fantastic flavor that only comes from roasting something in an oven…man!  It was fantastic!!

I am back home now.  And still loving kale chips.  I made them just a week or so ago to go with some Garlic Bacon Butter Fish I made.  (Recipe coming soon!)  So I shall share with you the beauty of these crispy little flakes of loveliness, haha!  They are super easy as well!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 Bundle Kale leaves
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Chile Powder (Just cause we like them with a kick!)

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Rinse the kale and separate the leaves from any large pieces of stem, tearing into slightly-larger than bite size pieces.  Use a salad spinner to dry, or lay out on paper towels and dab, getting as dry as possible.  It will prevent mushiness!  If you are brave and trust the whole “putting it in the oven will kill any germs” thing, you could skip the rinse part.  🙂
  3. Put kale in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil, and toss so coated.
  4. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, chile powder…and really any extra seasonings you may desire if you want to toss in a little garlic or something tasty!
  5. Line a large cookie sheet or two with foil.  Lay out kale chips in a single layer and do not over crowd!
  6. Bake until they reach your desired level of crispy brownness.  I probably got mine darker than most people would enjoy, but I wanted a stinking crunch!!!  Haha!  And they were lovely!!  Start with about 10 minutes and go from there.  🙂

Peectures!

Photo (12)Remove stems, rinse, and dry thoroughly!

Photo (13)Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper, chile powder, and whatever seasonings you crave!  Simple is delicious…but maybe you will discover something wonderful as well!

Photo (14)Place in a single layer on a foil lined cookie sheet and slide into your 350 degree oven.  NOTE:  I overcrowded my pan!  Most of them turned out crispy but I had a few mushy ones because they were too close together.  IF IN DOUBT, USE TWO COOKIE SHEETS OR ROAST IN SHIFTS!

Photo (15)Remove from oven…this picture really doesn’t do them justice…they were deeeelish!

Photo (16)Enjoy as a snack, or a side to compliment a lovely protein!!!  Yummy!!!!  Enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “Crispy Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

