Tips for Healthy Eating!!

Just a quick little post to share an idea I had with you.  I don’t know why I hadn’t done this before, because already these two little steps have helped us immensely.  As you well know, I love eating healthy.  I love COOKING healthy.  But being a dance teacher, a Postal worker, a food blogger, a wife, and an assistant manager trying to make my store better…causes a person to be quite busy.  Busy isn’t bad, especially when you are busy with good things.  But busy and healthy are very hard to harmonize.  Can I get an amen?!  Well it just got easier, because of these little preparations that only took a few minutes!!  Let me show you 🙂

First off…breakfast.  I am SO bad about skipping breakfast, but I know it is so important!  It provides energy for my day and keeps me full so I don’t get hungry and eat something naughty.  But I am so bad at getting up that 10 extra minutes to prep.  Cause I like sleep.  And stay up too late.  So if I get anything it is a banana on the way out the door.  Which does not keep me going very long.  And I am not the only one that struggles with that in the Rodgers house hold.  Mr. Rodgers used to make gorgeous omelets every day.  But he has been doing so much at the church and working so hard, he hasn’t had time either!  So I decided that something MUST be done.  So.  Here is what was done.  😉

Photo (6)Welcome to my breakfast box!!!  Here I have pre prepped everything you could need for omelets, breakfast skillets, whatever…  I was going to get fresh basil, but they were out…so I decided to get something that lasts longer.  Basil and cilantro go bad so fast!!!  So I got basil and cilantro paste.  It can be whisked right into the eggs or stirred into the filling…whatever you desire.  And then I got a couple boxes of little snack baggies and went a-chopping.  Here are some ideas of things that I used for our pre-prepped breakfast box.  🙂

Photo (5)

  • Diced Bell Pepper
  • Halved Cherry Tomatoes
  • Sliced Mushrooms
  • Minced Red Onion
  • Sliced Green Onion
  • Chopped Spinach (I thawed some frozen stuff, cause I have a billion bags of it)
  • Minced Garlic
  • Cubed Sharp Cheddar Cheese

What would you chop up for your breakfasts?!

 

Alright one more idea.  Snacks.  I don’t think people realize the importance of snacks in healthy eating.  If you get too hungry, you are going to crumble.  You need small amounts of satisfying “goodies” to get you through the day, especially between meals.  Keeps your eyes on the prize.  But when you are in a rush, you either forget your snacks…or just grab a whole bag of whatever snack you want and end up eating way too much of it….and spending more money than you should and eating more calories than you need.  So…right when you get home from the grocery store…grab those snack baggies again, and make one of these!!!

Photo (7)A snack box!!!!

Now, obviously, you need to make sure the snacks you are getting are actually healthy.  We have roasted almonds, raisins (debatable, but are a better way to fill a sweet tooth), and multigrain crackers.  Pre portion your goodies so when you are running out the door, you can grab a baggie or two and so when you are a few hours away from lunch, you can bust in to one of these and be less tempted by the calorie filled, chemical filled convenience foods around you!!!

Photo (8)Ready to go!!!  I hope these little tips help!!

2 thoughts on “Tips for Healthy Eating!!

Leave a Reply

