Lemon Blueberry Oat Bran

Dude.  I surprised myself with how good this is!!  It could quite possibly be my new favorite breakfast!!!  Though really, it feels more like a “treat” than a breakfast, it just turned out so good!

Have you ever tried Oat Bran?  I hadn’t until a month or so ago…and discovered that I love it.  I was raised eating Malt O Meal…my favorite hot cereal!!  Much creamier and smooth than oatmeal, and a fantastic flavor!  Sad thing is…when I moved to New York, I could not find it any where!!!  So sad!  I could find Malt O Meal brand cold cereal…but never the creamy deliciousness of my childhood.  I found that I enjoyed Cream of Rice…however the whole white rice thing didn’t seem healthy to me.   And then I stumbled upon Oat Bran.  Hallelujah, I have found something to fill the hole in my sad lonely little tummy!!!

And then…then I had this idea.  I tell you what.  Hot cereal will never be the same.  Somehow, without putting anything real bad in it…this ended up tasting like it had a lemony powdered sugar glaze.  It was heavenly.  And now I am going to share with you how you can make this heavenly creation for yourself.  IT IS SO EASY!!!

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 2/3 C Oat Bran
  • 2 C Water
  • Dash of Salt
  • Tbsp(ish) Raw Agave (do it to taste!!)
  • Dash of Lemon Extract (1/8-1/4 tsp)
  • 2 Tbsp Dehydrated Blueberries (Or fresh…I had a bag of dehydrated ones from Trader Joes.  They plumped up nicely and worked perfectly!)

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Follow the package instructions…or bring the water and salt to a boil.
  2. Stir in Oat Bran and simmer for 1-2 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in lemon extract, Agave, and blueberries.
  4. Eat and be comforted from the inside out!!

 

Peectures!

Lemon Blueberry Oat Bran 1Cook your oat bran and add in lemon extract, agave, and blueberries.

Lemon Blueberry Oat Bran 2Now get ready to enjoy!!  I ate mine with a nice side of turkey bacon.  🙂

Lemon Blueberry Oat Bran 3Ready to try?!  DO IT!!  Breakfast will never be the same I tell you!!

Leave a Reply

