Mango Steak Salad

Don’t you just love it when you are EXCITED for lunch?  Mr. Rodgers and I are making a renewed effort to eat really healthy!  And because of that…it means lots of salads!  When some people think of eating lots of salads…it’s with a big sigh and an “I can do this!”  Well…the day I ate this salad….I couldn’t WAIT to devour this bad boy.  I had prepared it the night before and was thinking about it all day until I got a break from work so I could try it!  That’s right…you can make salads you will be excited for!  And this is one of them!  DEFINITELY!

The steak in this was so tender and delicious, the mango was sweet (one of my favorite flavors!), and the romaine was the perfect texture.  The crunch!  Yay!  You gotta try!

Oh…and did I mention that I got the inspiration for this recipe from a $3 cook book my husband bought me?! YAAAAAAAAY!!!  THREE DOLLARS!!!!  YAY!!  So…this is adapted from….

Steak Mango 2That book!!  Yay!!  It’s got fun recipes…check it out: http://www.amazon.com/Salads-Love-Food-Parragon-Books/dp/1781867275

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 8 oz (at least) Tenderloin Steak or something similar…I believe what I found was a top round
  • 2 Tbsp Fish Sauce
  • 1 Lg Clove Garlic, Slice
  • 1 package Cherry or Grape Tomatoes (about 1 1/2 C), Quarters
  • 1 Small Onion, or about 1/4 of a large one, Dice
  • 1 Mango, Peeled, Pitted, and Sliced into strips
  • 2 tsp Agave
  • 1 1/2 Limes (juice)
  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1 tsp Sesame Oil
  • 2 Romaine Hearts

 

And here’s how you do it!!!

  1. Slice the steak into strips against the grain.  Place it into a Ziploc baggie with the garlic and fish sauce.  Marinate for as long as you have, preferably over night.  🙂
  2. Put the onion, tomatoes, and mango in a medium bowl.
  3. Squeeze lime juice over the mixture in the bowl, and drizzle with agave.  Stir so that everything is combined and coated.
  4. Chop or tear your romaine hearts into bite sized pieces.
  5. When just about ready to eat, take out your skillet (preferably cast iron, my favorite!) and melt the coconut oil over high heat.
  6. Add the sesame oil, and then the steak and sear just about a minute, so that it is browned on both sides but still tender!
  7. Add the meat to the bowl with the tomato mixture.  Stir so it is also coated in the yumminess.
  8. Put a layer of lettuce down in a bowl, and then spoon on a few good scoops of the meat mixture into the middle of the lettuce.
  9. BAM! EAT IT!!!

 

Unfortunately, through the transfer of phones between husband and I (Mr. Rodgers is by far the BEST man in the world…and let me take the phone update so I can take better pictures)…I lost the pictures of the process!  But…it’s a salad…it’s pretty simple, I know you can do it!  So here’s the end product!!  YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!

Steal Mango Salad