Flavorful Navy Bean Soup (Sick Day Comforts!)

Seeing as I am on a roll with super simple recipes, I decided to take it a step farther and pull this guy from the archives.  Soup and I have a growing relationship; our love only deepens with time.  Now usually I cram whatever I can into my poor overflowing pot when I make soup (much like I do with stir fry, as you learned in my Chicken Asparagus Stir Fry post!)  However, in the beginning of our journey to health, we strictly followed recipes straight from the website perfectweightamerica.com.  I found this recipe and didn’t stray from it hardly at all.  I wasn’t too hopeful about the outcome.  I mean, how good could it be?  It was just beans and onions after all!  HA!  Well.  Boy was my paradigm rocked!

Apparently you don’t have to cram your whole pantry into the pot for soup to rock your world.

It was easy.  Really easy.

It was tasty.  So tasty.

It was comforting, especially for my man that was curled up in bed sick all day.

It was cheap.  Have you priced dry beans?!

To sum it up, for the night we were having, it was perfection.

Let me share this perfection with you:

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 lb Navy Beans
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 2 Onions
  • 6 C Chicken Stock
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Parsley to Garnish

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Soak your beans over night…or at least 8 hours.  Seriously…beans are so cheap…go for the dry ones!
  2. Peel and dice your onions.
  3. Melt the butter in your soup pot over medium heat, and caramelize your onions.  Basically, you are just going sauté those guys for 25-30 minutes till they’re golden brown and have a fantastic rich flavor.
  4. Add your navy beans, stir, and cook for about 3 minutes.
  5. Pour in the chicken stock, stir, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for two hours.
  6. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  7. If you want a creamier texture, take a few cups of the beans and stock and blend it till smooth, then stir it back in.
  8. Garnish with parsley and sprinkle in some red pepper flakes if you like heat.  I liked the heat.  And the flavor it added was perfect!  Enjoy!

 

Navy Bean 1Yummyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!

Navy Bean Soup 2

And this is my poor sick man, curled up in blankies watching Clone Wars.  The soup was perfect to help him feel better!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Flavorful Navy Bean Soup (Sick Day Comforts!)

Leave a Reply

