Heart Talk

Hey guys! I just wanted to let you know that this week may not be as consistent with blogs as usual. This beautiful woman…my sweet grandma Maudie Kirkwood went to be with Jesus pretty suddenly this weekend. As soon as I heard that she was on an ambulance I scheduled the first flight to Washington. I missed her by a few hours. But, amidst the broken hearts we are experiencing so much peace. She is finally with the husband she was married to for over 70 years, and has longed for these past 5. And she is in the arms of the God she lived for every day of her life.

I am proud to have her blood in my veins. She is the one who started the tradition of loving people with food. Till age 94 she served us a feast every Sunday afternoon. Roast. Muffins. Carrots. Beans. Mashed potatoes. Fried corn. Classic Oklahoma feast from my little Oklahoma Gramma.

So for now, I am going to squish onto couches with my brothers, listen to my daddy, hug my mommy, and toast to a beautiful life. Soon I will be cooking again like never before, in her honor. Thanks guys!

20130915-193002.jpg

7 thoughts on “Heart Talk

  1. so sorry Tabi for your loss , you were blessed much to have a grandmother who loved you well ~ I had one too and she is Heaven as well Hey maybe Nana has already welcomed your grandma – blessings and safe travels !!!

  2. It’s been delightful to have you around the Kirkwood table once again, feasting with the family. I know you felt bad to not be helping me prepare last night’s Southwest Chicken/Bacon salad with its many toppings…but Becca and I pulled it off while you provided the new and exciting KanJam yard game to keep the men-folk entertained! Besides that, even the best of cooks, like yourself, need a break now and then!

Leave a Reply

