Super Simple Tzatziki

You may have noticed that my blogs are taking on a Mediterranean trend.  Well.  There is a reason for that.  All of these come from the same meal…my father, my husband and I had a Mediterranean feast when he was here to visit!  It’s my daddy’s favorite sort of meal.  In fact, the last Father’s day I spent with my family, the two fathers decided that they wanted to make their own Mediterranean feast…so they cooked for themselves on Father’s day, just to have it the way they wanted it, haha!!

Because this is one of my favorite sort of feasts, and it is so fresh and flavor packed and there are not too many “controversial” ingredients in them to make you feel guilty…I want to give you all the tools I know how to give so you can recreate the beautiful experience for yourself!   So…what Mediterranean Feast would be complete without Tzatziki?!  Here you go, with your third tool for your feast…

Adapted from http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com

So, here’s what you need:

  • 2 C Greek Yogurt
  • 1 C Cucumber, diced and preferably seeded
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon Juice (I thought this was verging on too much lemon, but my husband thought it was perfect!)
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • A generous sprinkle of dill weed (Original calls for fresh dill, which would probably be even better, I just happened to not have any, but the dill weed still worked great!)

And here’s how you do it!

  1. Prep your veggies.
  2. Combine and chill!  Whoooooooo eee!  That was difficult haha!

Enjoy it whatever way you see fit!  As a snack, as a dip, on a gyro.,..

Tzatziki 1Dice your cucumber!

Tzatziki 2

 

Add your yogurt (sorry this picture is so fuzzy, I didn’t realize until just now!  I probably smudged the lens with my grubby food-covered fingers haha!)

Tzatziki 3

 

Add the rest of the ingredients, and STIR!

Tzatziki 4

 

Yummy!!  Now let it chill until you are ready to serve!  Tzatziki is best if it has had a chance to sit and chill for at leasxt a few hours!!!  ENJOY YOUR MEDITERRANEAN FEAST!!

 

One thought on “Super Simple Tzatziki

Leave a Reply

