Cheesecake Party Planning (As Promised!)

First of all….Happy 100th post everyone!!!  Can you believe that?!  This little blog has grown so much since November! I am so proud of it, and so thankful to all of you, my faithful followers all the way down to my first time visitors!  What better way to celebrate…than a giant cheesecake party post?!  Are you ready?!  I’m ready!  Let’s DO THIS!

Wow your next party with a spread of mouthwatering sauces that they can smear on top of a slice of cheesecake!  The best part; they all came together much faster than I expected.  Also, I made them all the day before, stuck them in the fridge, then just warmed them up in the microwave for about 30 seconds for the few that had thickened.  It was peeeerfect!  Especially since I worked the day of the party!

So a little disclaimer…this beautiful idea came together for one of my new bestie’s birthday parties, which was glorious…and also happened in the midst of a long streak of MADNESS that is currently my life.  Training at two jobs…its wonderful, I’m thankful…it’s madness.  Because of that fact, I went semi-homemade with this celebration.  I know that making cheesecake can be a delicate process, and also that I wouldn’t have time for mess ups on my first cheesecake adventure.  So I bought my cheesecake this time!  Now I know that may be against the “inner code” of some of you foodies (honestly it was against mine too), but some days you just can’t be Martha Stewart.  But I tell you what.  Spend a much shorter amount of time making these fantastic sauces I will show you, and people will think you ARE Martha Stewart!!  But if you have the time to do it all, I read some crazy good reviews on Ina Garten’s cheesecake recipe on foodnetwork.com!  Check it out!!

 

Sauce #1 Stupid Easy Caramel Sauce

Cheesecake 6

Sorry for the fuzzy nature of the photos. As you can probably tell, this party was happening outside at night, haha!

Yes.  It is that easy.

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 Can Sweetened Condensed Milk

Yes.  That’s it.  Can you believe it?!  Here’s how you do it!!

  1. Fill a medium or large pot with water.
  2. Drop your can, still sealed, into the water and bring to a boil.
  3. Simmer for 2-2 1/2 hours.  Drain water and let cool for a while so you don’t burn your fingers.  If you don’t boil it long enough, it will be more solid than you want.  You can heat it up to thin it, but be careful!
  4. Open your can, and you will have caramel sauce!!  Don’t believe me?!  Google it!  You’ll be amazed!!

 

Sauce #2  Classy Chocolate Sauce adapted from southernfood.com

Cheesecake 5

Sorry for the fuzzy nature of the photos. As you can probably tell, this party was happening outside at night, haha!

Note:  This makes a large batch, so what you are going to want to do is use half for the next sauce, Orange Chocolate Sauce.  Unless you just want a butt load of chocolate.  Sometimes you just need chocolate.

So, here’s what you need:

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1  tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 C Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Mix the sugar, cocoa, flour, and salt in a saucepan over medium heat, adding just enough whipping cream to make a paste so everything gets incorporated and dissolved.
  2. Add the rest of the whipping cream and stir in.
  3. Bring to a boil, stir,  and immediately reduce to low and simmer for about 5 minutes.
  4. Stir in vanilla, pour half of the sauce into a serving container or Tupperware.  Put pot back on burner to make the Orange Chocolate Sauce (my favorite!!).

 

Sauce #3 Rich Orange Chocolate Sauce adapted from Southernfood.com

Cheesecake 3

Sorry for the fuzzy nature of the photos. As you can probably tell, this party was happening outside at night, haha!

I’ll say it again.  This was MY FAVORITE!  I even drizzled it on brownies…and died a little from the happiness.  Orange and chocolate runs in my veins.  I think it’s part of being a Kirkwood (that’s my maiden name) 😉  My sweet grams, before she died, would always have those chocolate oranges that you can smack on the table, unwrap, and you have perfect little slices!!!  We got them for her whenever we came across them.  🙂  Okay.  On to the sauce!!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 Recipe of Classy Chocolate Sauce
  • 1 Orange, zest and juice

And here’s how you do it:

  1. With your chocolate sauce over low heat, zest the orange and whisk it in.  Squeeze most of the orange juice and whisk in again!  Now taste and adjust.  I kept adding juice until it was pretty well used up!

 

Sauce #4  Creamy Peanut Butter Sauce adapted from Chow.com

Cheesecake 7

 

Believe it or not, this was my husband’s favorite sauce, and he doesn’t usually care for peanut butter desserts.  That’s a good sign, right?!  It was super good, not gonna lie!!  Supposedly this is a Friendly’s copy cat recipe!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1/2 C Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 1/4 C + Sugar (The original called for Karo Syrup and sugar.  I nixed the Karo and made my 1/4 C Sugar a HEAPING 1/4 C…then sprinkled a little here and there as I went.  This one you can do to taste, depending on how much you want your Peanut Butter Flavor to shine!)
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 C Creamy Peanut Butter

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Toss everything but the peanut butter in a pan over medium heat.  Stir until well combined.
  2. Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter until creamy and consistent.  See how easy these sauces are?!

 

Sauce #5  Fresh Mixed Berry Sauce adapted from Foodnetwork.com (Ina Garten!)

Cheesecake 4

Sorry for the fuzzy nature of the photos. As you can probably tell, this party was happening outside at night, haha!

 

The picture doesn’t even come close to doing this sauce justice.  It.  Was.  Gorgeous.  And so easy.  And so flippin delicious.  So delicious in fact that by the time I went to put some on a piece of cheesecake and take a picture for you all…it was done, haha!  Good sign, eh?  I was so intrigued by the idea of this sauce.  I assumed you probably just made sauce like you would pie fillings that I have done before…fresh fruit, sugar, not much else.  So when I came across this recipe and saw Ina’s idea…I simply had to try.  Honestly, I think it was even easier!!  Are you curious?!  Read on!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 Cup Strawberry Jelly (Not Jam)
  • 2 C Sliced Strawberries
  • 1 Small Package Raspberries
  • 1 Small Package Blackberries

That’s it!!!  And it’s so good!!

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Put the jelly in a pan over low heat and stir until heated through and melted.
  2. Dump in your berries, stir so everything is well coated, and let cook just for a couple of minutes or so, letting the flavors fuse.  Annnnnd you’re done!!!

 

Cheesecake 2

Whew!!  How was that?!  Much simpler than you thought?!  Another fun tip for party situations like this…make little cards with labels for your sauces so you don’t have to babysit the table and explain to people what each is!  And as far as presentation goes, people love it!  I get comments on it every time!!  I hope you try all of these sauces, and they change your world!  Or at least your next celebration!! 😀

Cheesecake 9

 

Here is my slice!  It’s Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake!!  Are you drooling?!

 

2 thoughts on “Cheesecake Party Planning (As Promised!)

Leave a Reply

