Deliciously Roasted Carrots

There was a short period in time when Mr. Rodgers and I had watched the documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead and we got all fired up to eat only vegetables.  We were going to be super veggie freaks!  In that short amount of time I went crazy on Pinterest and was searching out any veggie recipe I could find…and being ever so slightly OCD, I had to organize my Pinterest account!  So I made a board for every vegetable I could think about, and then spent hours finding pins to go in them.  Well we quickly got over the “just veggie” stage cause we really love meat, and have found that it really is pretty good for you 😉  However, I still use all those boards and pins that I found on my veggie pin binge!  But months later I was exploring those boards and realized that something seemed to be missing!!

What  could be missing?!  I had broccoli, cauliflower, artichokes, squash, bell peppers, asparagus and beans….what more could a girl need?  Then it dawned on me!  Carrots!  Why the heck don’t I have a board for carrots?!  Oh, I know why…I always immediately and exclusively think of carrots as something you eat raw.  My little Grandma Maudie would be so ashamed, because she would cook us a down home Oklahoma style feast every Sunday, and she would ALWAYS have carrots cooking in butter in her nice big cast iron skillet.  Why did it not occur to me that I could cook carrots too?

I’m so glad I had that awakening.  These carrots made me really happy.  I could barely even adapt it, because the blog where I found it already had used agave instead of sugar!!!  Two points for you, familystylefood.com!!  You have my respect.  I just cut out the fresh mint because, as I mentioned in my Quinoa Mint Zucchini Boat post…Mr. Rodgers is DEFINITELY not a fan of fresh mint.  😉

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 bunch carrots with the green tops (baby carrots, or just long skinny ones)
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Lime, Juice and Zest
  • 1 tsp Agave
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/4 tsp Coriander
  • 1/4 tsp Paprika
  • 2 Green Onions, sliced

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Trim most of the tops off of your carrots, wash them, and put them in a bowl.
  3. Whisk together the remaining ingredients (except green onions) in a bowl and dump them over the carrots.
  4. Cover a baking sheet with foil and dump on your carrots.
  5. Roast about 2o minutes until they are tender and have a little char on them.  Unless you don’t like char, but I do.  🙂
  6. Sprinkle with sliced onions.
  7. Now EAT!  This went great with our grilled chicken and fresh watermelon, and we got to eat it all on the front porch…it was perfect!!!

 

 

Pictures!!!

 

 

 

 

Cumin Carrots 2

 

Preheat your oven to 400.  Wash your carrots and trim the tops a bit!

Cumin Carrots 1

 

Whisk together everything except the green onions.  Pour over carrots (in a large bowl…or you can do it right on the pan like I did but it left me with a mess on the pan which I don’t like ;))  Toss to coat.

Roast for about 20 minutes, or until the carrots are tender and have a little bit of char!  It makes them taste yummy and look grilled!

Cumin Carrots 3

 

This is why you cover your pan in foil. 😉

Sprinkle with green onions and serve!  So yummy!!

Cumin Carrots 5

 

I think they’re kinda pretty, but maybe I’m biased 😉

Cumin Carrots 4

 

See how there is just a touch of char, but the beautiful orange color is still shining through?  Perfect!

Cumin Carrots 6

 

Welcome to our little picnic, where these tasty little carrots didn’t last long!  Perfect summer evening!!!  These nights make me so happy!  But not half as happy as this guy makes me, all this cooking and sunshine would be nothing without him…

Cumin Carrots 7

 

Heheheee.  Eating him some carrots!  Yeah!!!

 

Alright, that’s it folks!!!  Enjoy your carrots, mamma always told me they make you see better.  Maybe if you love these as much as I do and eat them lots…you’ll get X-ray vision!  SWEET!

7 thoughts on “Deliciously Roasted Carrots

Leave a Reply

