Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay. This is one of those recipes I repinned a long time ago, thinking “Gosh I want to make that, but there are multiple things in it that I shouldn’t have…” with a determination in the back of my mind somewhere to make it my own, and make it healthier.  I am so proud of me for finally carrying through!!  So delicious.  I really should have eaten lunch before typing this.  Ugh.  I want it nooooow.  I wish the pictures did it justice, because it was super tasty.   I mean, come on, how can an artichoke cream sauce NOT be, haha?!  Enough talking.  Let’s get down to business, yo.  

Adapted from tasteofhome.com.
So, here’s what you need:

  • 4-6 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Herbamare (or salt) and Pepper to taste.
  • 2 Tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 2 Lemons
  • 2 Tbsp Butter or Ghee
  • 2 Tbsp Gluten Free Flour (or the healthiest flour substance you have)
  • 1 Tbsp Garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 C Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • About 14 oz Artichoke Hearts, quartered (Drained)
  • 3 Tbsp Parmesan, shredded
  • 2 Tbsp fresh Basil, minced
  • 2 Tbsp White Wine or Chicken Broth

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Season your chicken breasts with Herbamare (or salt) and Pepper.
  3. Melt coconut oil in a large cast iron skillet over medium high heat.  Brown chicken for a few minutes on each side.  You want to get a nice brown color on them!!
  4. Squeeze juice of one lemon over breasts and slide chicken into preheated oven and cook for about 20 minutes, or until cooked through (juices run clear.)
  5. Now start your sauce!  Melt your butter or Ghee in a pot over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant, just about 60 seconds or so.
  6. Whisk in flour to create a paste, then slowly add the almond milk.  Bring to a boil and turn down to  a simmer until thickened to your desired consistency.
  7. Stir in remaining ingredients (including juice of about half a lemon), and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve over hot chicken breasts.  Enjoy the creamy, decently healthy goodness!!!

 

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 2

 

Season chicken with Herbamare (or salt) and Pepper

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 1Melt coconut oil in a cast iron skillet over medium high heat

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 3

 

Add chicken and cook a few minutes on each side, making sure you get a nice brown sear on both sides.

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 4

 

Slide chicken into preheated oven and cook until done, check at 20 minutes.

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 5

 

Now start your sauce!  Melt about 2 Tbsp of butter or Ghee in a pot over medium heat.

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 6

 

Add garlic and cook until fragrant, only about 60 seconds…make sure you don’t burn it!  I have a terrible habit of burning garlic!

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 7

 

Whisk in flour until you have a paste…

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 8

 

Slowly add almond milk, whisking continuously, until well incorporated.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer until it thickens to the consistency you desire.

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 9

 

Add the rest of the ingredients, including the juice of about half a lemon!  Yummmmm…you are going to enjoy this…

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 10

 

Now that is a cream sauce!! Spoon it generously over your chicken and devour!!!

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 13

 

Yummy…

Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce 12

 

Fantastic!!  Let me know what you thought!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken with Artichoke Cream Sauce

  1. Uhhmmm, wow. Seriously? My husband told me 7 times during dinner how much he liked this. I did use vanilla almond milk (because I don’t know how to read grocery labels when I shop) and sherry cooking wine (because that is what I had) and it gave the cream sauce this delightfully sweet mellow flavor. Next time the hubs wants me to add in mushroomst o the cream sauce. Yummy. Sooooo looking forward to making this again.

    • Oh man mushrooms will be a great addition! On a did note, my dad and I created a stuffed chicken recipe with a mushroom cream sauce you might like, coming soon to a blog near you 😛 I’m so glad you guys loved it!!! Always enjoy getting comments from you, my number one fan! 😉

Leave a Reply

