Mediterranean Frittata

This was a lovely little surprise.  I love frittatas and this one sounded interesting…and I looooove feta so I knew that part would be a win.  But the whole olive thing I was unsure about.  Well.  I can confidently tell you…that was SILLY of me.  This is by far my favorite frittata to date!!  It was pretty because of all the colors, and had a nice fresh taste to it.  It’s so nice to have a break from scrambled eggs and fruit smoothies!!  In fact, I have all the things in my fridge to make it again and have been wanting to for days now…but have been staying up late with the hubby and sleeping past breakfast, hehe!  Don’t judge me!  I’m only childless and jobless for so long!  Until tomorrow in fact.  Well, jobless that is.  Childless will hopefully describe me for a few more years 😉

Anywho!  This is perfect for breakfast or brunch…heck, it’s great for any meal!  You should really try it out!  It will quickly transport you to the East…sipping fresh pressed pomegranate juice, eating fish just pulled from the sea and exploring the open markets!!  Oh how I long to go there myself, I’ve only heard stories from my parents’ frequent trips to Israel.  Someday.  Someday I will go.  But until then I will be here, eating my Mediterranean Frittatas and going through my Rosetta Stone Hebrew course.  🙂

Note: This was my first experiment cooking with Ghee.  It worked real well!!

Adapted from this lovely book I have mentioned before.  I am quickly falling in love with it.  For real.  Loved everything I have tried.  You should get it and see for yourself, here’s a link if you wanna check it out!  Beautiful book with gorgeous pictures and even better recipes!

deliciously-healthy-vegetables

So, here’s what you need for my version:

  • 2 Tbsp Ghee (or regular butter)
  • 3 Tbsp Red Onion, Minced
  • 1/2 Tbsp Minced Garlic
  • 6 Eggs
  • 6 oz Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Greek Seasoning
  • 8 Kalamata Olives, pitted and halved
  • 1/2 Tomato, chopped into large pieces
  • 4 oz Feta Cheese, crumbled
  • 2 Tablespoons Cilantro, minced

I’m drooling already.

And here’s how you do it!

  1. Prep your veggies.
  2. Preheat your oven to 350*.
  3. Use a large cast iron skillet. (If you don’t have one, then make sure your pan is at least oven safe.  But for reals.  You should use a cast iron skillet.  It makes the bottom so browned and crispy, aaah!  I can’t imagine having it any other way anymore!)  Melt Ghee over Medium heat.
  4. Add Red Onion and saute for a few minutes, until they are starting to get tender.  Add garlic and cook an additional minute.
  5. Meanwhile, beat together eggs, Greek yogurt, salt, pepper, and Greek seasoning.
  6. When onions and garlic are done, spread them out evenly over the pan, and pour your egg mixture over the top of it.
  7. Sprinkle in your tomatoes, olives, and feta cheese.
  8. Cook for 3 – 5 minutes, until the edges are starting to become solid.
  9. Move your pan into the preheated oven and bake for about 15 minutes, or until the middle is no longer runny and it is starting to brown.
  10. Sprinkle with fresh cilantro and serve!!  Sometimes we sprinkle ours with hot sauce, too!  Or sour cream!  Whatever you can think of!

Well, what do you think?  Doesn’t that sound yummy?  What is your favorite Mediterranean style dish?

Here’s some pictures for you visual folks 😉

Meditteranean Frittata 5

Start off by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.  Melt your Ghee in the bottom of a large cast iron skillet, and begin sauteing your onions.  When they are just about done (3ish minutes), add your garlic, cook a minute more then distribute evenly throughout the pan.  Hopefully more evenly than this.  I wasn’t done yet 😉

Meditteranean Frittata 2Meanwhile, while you are waiting for your onions to become tender, whisk together your eggs, Greek yogurt, salt, pepper, and Greek seasoning till it is fluffy.

Meditteranean Frittata 3

See?Meditteranean Frittata 4Pour the mixture over the onions/garlic…

Meditteranean Frittata 6Now add your halved olives, tomato chunks, and crumbled feta.  Let cook for 3-5 minutes, until the edges are starting to get solid.  Now scoot it into your oven for about 15 minutes…or more importantly, until the middle isn’t liquidy any more, and it is starting to brown…crispy edges!!

Meditteranean Frittata 7Yummy!!  Sprinkle with fresh cilantro!

Meditteranean Frittata 8Little slice of happiness right there!!

I hope you enjoy!  You seriously need to try this!  Let me know if you make any fun changes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

