Steak Additions: Lemon Garlic Marinade and Cilantro Chimchurri Sauce

Wow.  I love steak.  And this took it to a whole new level.  It made me real happy!!  I had never heard of chimchurri sauce (I’m still learning!), but I can’t believe what I was missing!  Especially CILANTRO chimchurri sauce!!  Right Mamma?!  Holla!  😉  My mommy loves cilantro to a point where it is concerning…  Sound dramatic?  I’m not exaggerating, I promise.  There were so many instances where my brothers and I would skip up the stairs to catch her in the kitchen, smashing cilantro leaves between her fingers and sniffing them haha!! If someone walked in that didn’t know her well enough to know how amazingly sweet and innocent she is…or didn’t know that it was cilantro in her hands…they’d probably be concerned, or calling for an intervention haha!  However…I wouldn’t change it for the world.  Just the sillyness that makes her “mommy.”  So instead of calling Cilantrohaulics Anonymous…I am going to share this recipe in her honor.  I’m sure she will be printing it in no time 😉

This is in keeping with my revelation that I just mentioned in my Salmon with Grapefruit Relish post.  To make a new, exciting entree, you don’t have to come up with a crazy new seasoning or cook it in a way no one has thought of before (though those are good things to do!)…you simply need to cook your meat and top it with some sort of yummy sauce/salsa/chimchurri something!!  And it makes you look fancy!

Adapted from the lovely http://www.sagerecipes.com

Enough jabbering.  Here’s what you need:

  • 2 lbs Grilling Steaks

Marinade:

  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • 5 Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • 1 Pinch Red Pepper Flakes
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil

Chimchurri Sauce:

  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • 1/2 Onion
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 Bunch Cilantro (Just the leaves)
  • 1/2 C Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar (Mr. Rodgers’ favorite!)
  • 1/8 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Black Pepper

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. A few hours before (or preferably the night before) season your steaks with salt and pepper.  Mix together all marinade ingredients.  Put steaks in a large Ziploc or bowl, pour marinade over, seal, and toss in your fridge until you are ready to grill.
  2. About half an hour before you want to eat, take the meat out of the fridge and let it sit at room temperature for about 15 minutes.
  3. Now make your chimchurri sauce.  Now, I kinda cheated on this part!  You were supposed to chop this all and mix it together in a bowl.  Well.  I was short on time.  So I used a food processor, and I thought it worked pretty great!!  Add the garlic and onion to your food processor and pulse until they are starting to look minced.  Add everything but the cilantro and pulse a few more times to combine.  Now rinse your cilantro leaves and add them and pulse until you have a salsa-looking sauce.
  4. Heat your grill and cook your steaks about 5 to 7 minutes per side, depending how thick it is and how “well done” you like it.
  5. Place on a plate, let sit, then top with your magical cilantro sauce…and devour!!

 

Mix together your marinade ingredients.

Chimchurri Steak 1

 

 

Place steaks in a bowl or Ziploc bag and pour on the marinade.  Ziplocs work best but I was out!  Rub the marinade into the meat.  If you have a Ziploc you can zip it up and massage it through the plastic!  Put it back into the fridge over night (or at least a few hours!)
Chimchurri Steak 2

 

 

About half an hour before you want to eat, take your meat out of the fridge and let it sit.  Now start your chimchurri sauce!  Place your half onion and garlic cloves in a food processor (it won’t look like as much as mine…I doubled it and had SO MUCH EXTRA! Haha.)  Pulse until they are starting to look minced!

Chimchurri Steak 4

 

 

Add everything else other than the cilantro…Chimchurri Steak 5

 

Pulse to combine…

Chimchurri Steak 6

 

Now rinse your cilantro leaves…

Chimchurri Steak 7

 

and pulse again, until it begins looking loosely like a salsa…

Chimchurri Steak 8

 

 

Now grill your steaks!  Funny thing is…we had just been given a grill and my husband was desperately trying to put it together in enough time to grill these outdoors.  Unfortunately it was more complicated than we thought…I made this meal, ran out to a dance stage rehearsal…and when I came back the poor fella was still trying to get the darn thing together!!  Anywho…if you have an outdoor grill…I reccommend using it, but if you don’t, or it’s -20 degrees outside (which actually happens here) then go ahead and bust out your grill pan!

5-7 minutes per side 🙂

Chimchurri Steak 9

 

Let sit for a good 10-15 minutes…then slice, plate, and top with chimchurri sauce!!  Yummyyyyyy!  Such a nice bold, tangy flavor.  A nice change from A-1!  (I know, all the guys just yelled at me.  Haha.)

Chimchurri Steak 11

 

See that tasty sauce?

Chimchurri Steak 10

 

 

Beautiful!!  Yummy!!!Chimchurri Steak 12

4 thoughts on “Steak Additions: Lemon Garlic Marinade and Cilantro Chimchurri Sauce

  1. Oh my goodness I love chimmichuri sauce. And when I saw this post I drooled. Can’t wait to whip some up. Cause we are having steak this weekend!

    • Yay!! Perfect!!! It’s a nice fresh addition, and a big pop of flavor!! I love cilantro and oniony garlicy things so it made me real happy 🙂 Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

