Maker’s Diet Tomato Basil Soup

Tomatoes and I…are not best friends.  In fact, growing up we were more like enemies.  But I decided to be brave and try this soup.  And it caused me to decide that I should give tomatoes another chance, cause it was real tasty!  It’s pretty simple too, and creamy even though there is no dairy!  You know any soup that causes you to reconsider your entire view on a vegetable (or fruit?  I get so confused when people argue if its a fruit or veggie)…has to be something pretty special. 🙂  If you like tomato soup…you should try this.  Even the smell is worlds better than the stuff from a can!

I made this the first potentially summery day this year.  There was still a chill in the air, so the warmness of the soup was a wonderful touch to the day.  However, the freshness of the soup also made it feel summery and added to the celebration that was happening inside of me because “the winter is over and the time of singing has come!”  Yaaaaay.  When you live in Northern New York, you appreciate the coming of the sun much much more .

Adapted from perfectweightamerica.com…only because, as always, I had double the amount of garlic, haha!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 Onion, minced
  • 1 C Basil leaves, julienned
  • 2 Large Cans Diced Tomatoes
  • 2 tsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 6 C Chicken Stock

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Heat the coconut oil in a large pot over medium heat.
  2. Add onions and saute until beginning to soften.  Add garlic and saute another minute or so.
  3. Add tomatoes and cook 5 minutes.
  4. Add chicken stock, bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for about 10 minutes.
  5. Add basil and vinegar.  Blend with an immersion blender or in a normal blender, in batches if necessary.

Melt coconut oil.  Saute onions.  Add garlic and saute another couple of minutes.  Add tomatoes and cook 5 minutes, then add stock and simmer 10 minutes.

Add basil and vinegar.

Tomato Basil Soup 1

Bleeeeeeeend to make it nice and creamy!

Tomato Basil Soup 2

Pour yourself a cup, put on a sweatshirt, and go play outside!!

Tomato Basil Soup 3See my pure glee at the sunshine?!

Tomato Basil Soup 5Such a good day, I actually did my hair, got to play outside with the baby (GOSH I MISS HER), made a healthy lunch, and got to soak in some vitamin D from its original source instead of a supplement, yaaaay!!!

Tomato Basil Soup 6Wouldn’t this face make your day a good day too?  SO stinking precious.  All morning she was almost in tears begging me “ouside? ouside? ousiddddeee!!?”  Sweet girl.  Do you like my scary chalk T-Rex?  😉

Tomato Basil Soup 4Beautiful day.  Beautiful baby.  Beautiful soup.  I feel like this is a soup you could play with too…a good base for artistic license 🙂  I topped it with shredded parmesan at one point…that was delicious.  I bet it would be good with croutons too.  But that would take away the whole “Maker’s Diet” super healthy aspect.  🙂  Let me know how you like it!

5 thoughts on “Maker’s Diet Tomato Basil Soup

Leave a Reply

