Cannon Beach Tacos

Why Cannon Beach tacos?  Well…I call them tacos, because they have all the satisfying tastes of tacos with most of the same components.  Why Cannon Beach?  Because the website where I first found inspiration for this recipe calledtheirs Haystacks.  Cannon Beach is in Oregon, not far from my 19 year home in Washington…and it is home to Haystack Rock.  When I put this fantastic entree together, I felt like I was molding miniature Haystack Rocks on my plate.

Haystack Rock.  Probably one of my favorite places on earth.  Beautiful, unmatched scenery…the rocks rising from the ocean like nothing you’ve ever seen.  And when the tide goes out you can crawl over the smaller rocks to the base of the Haystack and explore the countless tide pools full of anemones that will squirt at you when you poke them, shy little hermit crabs that will come out and say hello if you hold still long enough…little shrimp that you can barely see and whole walls of starfish of all shapes and colors!  Ooooh!  I know!  I’ll stop trying to describe it and just show you!!  Do you mind a little detour?  🙂  One of my favorite things about Haystack Rock is that you may have seen it before, you just don’t know it.  I am in New York and have found multiple pictures of it in artwork all the way over here…even on my boss’s fridge, and in Home Depot!!

44209_101575719909725_3095583_n

There it is.  Haystack Rock.  Isn’t it just…majestic?  When I am there…it’s almost spiritual how beautiful it is.  Props to my brother Gabe for taking such awesome pictures 🙂

37209_101575496576414_2944121_n

The smaller rocks surrounding Haystack…

37947_101573366576627_3042573_n

These are the guys that will squirt you in the face if you’re not careful!  But it’s probably my fault for poking them and watching them close up like a flower at dusk…

47050_101572253243405_5517351_n

This was me, talking to Jesus.  It is my favorite place to meet with Him.  Splashing through the receding waves at the base of the Rock, enjoying peace in my soul.  Didn’t realize that the brother was taking pictures of me 🙂

64804_101574503243180_2534582_n

65742_101573143243316_5406505_n

Me and mommy, holding some starfish that a man had taken from the wall…which you are not supposed to do!  You can hurt the poor creatures.  But since he already taken them we grabbed a picture with them.66257_101573556576608_3075738_n

The starfish wall!!65749_101572666576697_7397544_n

It takes my breath away!! 🙂

So, now on to the food version of Haystack Rock.  Food food food.

This is my Mr. Rodgers’ new favorite meal.  BY FAR.  It made quite a bit of food, so we ate leftovers for lunch and dinner a couple of days.  He legitimately got upset when he went to the fridge to grab some leftovers and they were gone.  He whined for me to make more, even though I hadn’t planned ahead to have the ingredients.  Poor fella.  He is in love with tacos.  Extremely.  And this filled his taco craving without having to ingest the tortilla and any other ingredients that are questionable when it comes to health.  It makes me so happy that I can serve him his favorite meal without feeling like I am compromising his health 🙂

Adapted from http://wholeandfree.blogspot.com.

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/2 lbs Ground Turkey
  • 1 Onion, Chopped
  • 1 Tbsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2-1 Tbsp Cumin
  • 3 Cups All Natural Salsa (Check your label, organic is best…with no sugar!)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 3 Avocadoes (Or prepared Guacamole)
  • 2 Mangoes, Chopped
  • Fresh Cilantro, Chopped (For garnish)
  • 1 C Quinoa (Uncooked)
  • 1 Bunch Cilantro, Chopped
  • 1 Lime

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Start your quinoa.  Follow the directions for your brand, or…bring 2 Cups of water to a boil.  Squeeze the juice of HALF of the lime into the water, and stir in the quinoa.  Turn the heat to Medium-low and let simmer about 12 minutes, until the liquid is dissolved.  Take off heat and let sit.  Stir in chopped cilantro.
  2. In a large saute pan, place the ground turkey and chopped onion and let it start browning.
  3. Add garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper and stir in.  Brown the turkey all the way.
  4. Add the salsa, bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer about 2o minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, chop your mango and extra cilantro.
  6. Chop your avocados and place in a bowl.  Squeeze the last half of the lime on top, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and any other seasonings you want.  I used a little Mrs. Dash, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, and a dash of hot sauce.  Mash it lightly with a fork so it starts to get creamy but is still chunky.
  7. Now, time to assemble!!  I was wishing I had one of those handy little food forms they use on Iron Chef America to help me build my haystacks…but I don’t.  SOOOO I started with a 1/2 C measuring cup, packed the cilantro lime quinoa into it, and turned it upside down on the plate so it stayed in a nice form.  I then repeated the same thing with the meat mixture, but didn’t pack it as full.  Then smeared on some guac, dropped on some mango, and sprinkled with fresh cilantro.  They look beautiful.  And taste even better.  Please don’t skip any of the ingredients…because its so worth it.  The mango is a perfect pop of color and flavor in the mix.  Ahhhh!  Let me show you my pictures!

Start your quinoa cooking with half a lime squeezed into the water.  Stir in a bunch of chopped cilantro when it is finished.  Set aside.

Mexican Haystacks 1Throw your chopped onion and ground turkey into a large pan and get it cooking.  Add Cumin, Garlic Powder, Salt and Pepper.

Mexican Haystacks 0.5

When it is browned, stir in salsa.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

Mexican Haystacks 2

Yum.  Meanwhile, chop your extra cilantro and mango.

Mexican Haystacks 5

See?  It just needs to be in cubes.  SOOOO TASTY.  Now start your guacamole.  I start by cubing my avocados so I will have a but of chunkiness in my guacamole.  Use a knife to cut it into cubes while still in the skin, then simply use a spoon to go around the avocado between the skin and flesh and let it drop into a bowl.

Mexican Haystacks 3

Now mash gently with salt, pepper, 1/2 lime juice, and any other seasonings you want.  I used a dash of hot sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, Mrs. Dash, and a bit of chili powder.

Mexican Haystacks 4

Yum!  Now construct!!  First, your cilantro lime quinoa, you can use a measuring cup to form it.

Mexican Haystacks 6

Now add your meat, guacamole, mango, and sprinkle with cilantro.

Mexican Haystacks 11

YES!!!  SO TASTY!!!

Mexican Haystacks 10

Mexican Haystacks 8

Here it is with my simple roasted asparagus.

Mexican Haystacks 9

Here’s to you, Haystack Rock!!!  Thank you Jesus for Cannon Beach Tacos 😀Mexican Haystacks 7

3 thoughts on “Cannon Beach Tacos

  1. What a fabulous looking meal, and such a good write-up, Mrs. Rodgers! Brings back wonderful, warm memories of being there with you & Gabe. That was such a fulfilling & fun day for me.

    Madre!

Leave a Reply

