Gluten Free Nutella Pancakes (Cheat Treat!!)

As many of you know, I am a nanny to three delightful little ones.  Or was.  Cause they moved.  All the way to California.  And I live in New York.

Sad tears.

But as I type up these food blogs and go through my pictures, it is bittersweet and precious because I come across so many memories…so many moments with “my babies.”  You see…Tabby cooks for people she loves…and Tabby loves “her babies.”  So I made them treats.

These pancakes are one of those treats.

I made them pancakes every Wednesday.  They LOOOOOOOVED pancake day.  Usually they would ask for chocolate chips in them, but the day I created these beauties…they were all out of chocolate chips.  I knew little Eoin would be devastated, so I did some quick thinking.  As I searched the cupboards I found a cup of Nutkao…also know as a different brand of Nutella.  My boss had brought it home one day and as I unpacked her groceries had told me “Yeah…that was an impulse purchase…I dunno.”  There it stood in the cupboard, unused…and so I figured, why not?!  Eoi wants chocolate pancakes, I’ll give him chocolate pancakes!!!

It was sooooo easy.

And super tasty.

Yes.  I cheated.  I took a couple of bites.  I could say it was for the sake of the blog, but really…the big smiles on their faces and the clean plates should have been evidence enough for me 😉

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 C Gluten Free Bisquick
  • 1 C Milk
  • 2 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Egg
  • A Big Spoonful of Nutella or Nutkao (Note…I checked online and Nutella is gluten free, but I cannot find any info on Nutkao)

And here’s how you do it (I don’t think I even have to tell ya)

  1. Whisk together all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Cover a pan with a small amount of oil  or butter and turn on medium heat.
  3. Pour small ladlefulls into the pan, cook until it starts to get bubbly and browned on the other side…then flip!
  4. Serve and observe the smiles 🙂

Note: The Nutella/Nutako will change the texture slightly, so don’t wait for them to look exactly like normal pancakes to flip. They are a tiny bit more cakey, but still warm, chocolatey, and delicious 🙂

 

Seeeeeee?

Gather your ingredients!  Nutella or Nutkao, Gluten Free Bisquick, milk, vegetable oil, and an egg…

Nutella Pancakes 6

 

Whisk together in a bowl, and drool at the chocolatey goodness…

Nutella Pancakes 1

Pour into a hot, greased pan in small ladlefulls….

 

Nutella Pancakes 2

 

 

Flip when the edges are crispy and the side facing you starts to get bubbly.  Note…it won’t get as bubbly as normal pancakes so don’t burn them!
Nutella Pancakes 3

 

 

Put on a plate and top as you please…the boys just wanted butter and syrup as always 😉  Can you imagine this with a sprinkle of powdered sugar and a dollop of whipped cream?!  Whaaaaat? I know I’m a healthy food blogger…but I told you we can have cheat treats now and then! 😉

Nutella Pancakes 4

 

So pretty!!!

Nutella Pancakes 5

Now serve and observe those smiles that steal your heart and make it sing!!!  Sweet boys!!!  See what I mean?  They’re precious!!  You probably miss them and you haven’t even met them!  😉  But seriously.  Look at those smiles.  Those smiles say “This Wednesday morning treat is kid approved!!”

Nutella Pancake Smiles

 

Enjoy!!!  Do you have a Nutella creation to share?!  What’s your favorite pancake variation?

 

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Nutella Pancakes (Cheat Treat!!)

Leave a Reply

