Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon (Or Tuna)

I was raised quite near the Pacific, which had many perks!  One of which was parents that love deep sea fishing.  Which meant ridiculously fantastic fresh fish.  All the time.  Especially tuna.  My parents would come home with their epic stories of choppy seas, hard fought battles, and slimy fish trying to get away…all while my mom whisked up her famous teryaki marinade and my dad fired up the grill.  In fact…that is what the men in my family made for my husband and friends for his bachelor party…and my husband still talks about it, and we’ve been married two years!

That being said, imagine my surprise when I went to the store to get some tuna…and couldn’t find it.  Two or three different stores even.  Couldn’t even find FROZEN.  Laaaaaaaaame.

However, good can come of any lame situation.  I decided to try salmon instead, because it was the only other fish I know of that won’t hurt you if you don’t cook it all the way through, which is what the original recipe said to do.  In the end I DID cook mine all the way through, because I decided to grill it instead of sear it.  I’m almost glad that I couldn’t find tuna because the flavor combo with the salmon was great 🙂

This recipe was fantastic.  Very sweet, delicious…yum.  My husband isn’t a huge ginger fan…but he loved this!!  You know that a recipe is something special when it causes someone to enjoy a food that they don’t usually like.  So…whether you like ginger or not, keep reading!

Adapted from a lovely little book that I found at a discount store!  One of my favorite $4.00 purchases I’ve made 🙂  If you find the cook book Deliciously Healthy Vegetables by Shaily Lipa…give it a try!

deliciously-healthy-vegetables

 

Here is my slightly more healthy, slightly more “salmon” version of her “Tuna with Pepper Chutney.”

 

Sooooo, here is what you need:

  • 2 lbs Salmon Fillets 
  • 3 Large Bell Peppers, diced  (Not green, I used two red, one yellow.)
  • 3 Garlic Cloves, miced
  • 1 Inch Ginger, peeled and julienned
  • 1/4 C Vinegar
  • 1/4 C Agave
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Coconut Oil

 

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Prep your veggies!
  2. Place the bell peppers, garlic, ginger, vinegar, and agave in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer, until it gets thick, reduced, and peppers are tender…about half an hour.
  3. Get your grill pan nice and hot.  Rub a little coconut oil on your fish, then salt and pepper.  Toss on the grill for about 3 minutes per side, depending on how thick your fillets are.  It should flake easily with a fork when done.
  4. Serve  the salmon with your delicious chutney!

 

This chutney only gets better as it sits, so save some for lunch the next day!!  Be looking for another recipe that is perfect for these leftovers!  Yummmmmmmmy!

 

 

Prepare your veggies.  Mix all ingredients but fish, salt, pepper, and coconut oil in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Cook for about 30 minutes, until the liquid is reduced and the peppers are tender.

Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon 1

 

 

Preheat your grill pan (or grill).  Rub your fillets with a small amount of coconut oil, then salt and pepper generously.  I actually put the coconut oil right on my grill pan, but I think it would probably be easier to rub it on the fish now that I’m thinking about it 😉
Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon 2Grill for about 3 minutes per side, until you’ve got nice grill pans and the fish flakes easily.

Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon 3Grill lines yaaaaaay!  Put on a plate…

Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon 4And top with yummy chutney!!!

Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon 5So pretty, and so tasty!

Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon 6Let me know how you like it!!!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Pepper Chutney Salmon (Or Tuna)

Leave a Reply

