Bell Pepper Fried Eggs!!

Ever since I saw a picture of this on Pinterest, I knew I just had to try.  They are so cute.  And I LOVE me some fried eggs.  And since I eat eggs for breakfast almost every day, it was nice to have a way to shake it up a little bit…and it only added yummy healthiness, cause it was eggs plus a veggie.  It’s pretty self explanatory.  If you can see the picture, you can probably do it. But here is how I did it, just in case 🙂

Here is what you need:

  • 1 Large Bell Pepper of your favorite color (You want it more short and fat, in contrast to one of the long skinny ones.)
  • 2-3 eggs, depending on how hungry you are
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

And here’s how you do it!

  1. Slice the bell pepper into slices between 1/2 in and 1 inch thick.  If it is a narrow pepper like mine was, you’ll need thicker slices so your eggs don’t run over. (I learned that the hard way ;))
  2. Melt your butter in a flat-bottomed pan.
  3. Toss in your slices and cook for a couple of minutes, flipping once.  You want them to be starting to get tender.
  4. Crack your eggs into the middle of the pepper slices.  Duh.  😉
  5. Salt and pepper!  I like LOTS of fresh cracked black pepper on my fried eggs.
  6. Cook until the eggs are at your desired amount of done-ness.  It works best for over easy-ish.  If you like them cooked all the way through, it will still work but won’t be as pretty.  I’ll show you in my pictures 😉

Here we go!

Slicey slicey!

Bell Pepper Fried Egg 1

Melt the butter in a pan and start cooking the bell pepper slices

Bell Pepper Fried Egg 2

Crack the eggs into the middle of the slices

Bell Pepper Fried Egg 3

Cook until it is at your desired amount of done-ness.  You like my fancy, official foodie speech?  Ha.  I wish.  Done-ness.

Bell Pepper Fried Egg 4

It works best for over-easyish done-ness.  And looks the prettiest.  However, if that freaks out you can pop the yolk and flip it half way through so it all gets cooked 🙂

Bell Pepper Fried Egg 5

Isn’t that just a fun idea?  I hope you love it!!!  It would be cute for entertaining too, cause they kind of look like flowers!  Totally just thought of that!  FUN!!!!

Leave a Reply

