Berry Good Breakfast!

Cheesy title?  Quite possibly.  But all you mother’s of small children caught what just happened there.  Perhaps I have been spending too much time in Berry Bitty City 😉

Anywho!  This is a very, very good breakfast…and very full of berries!  Usually when I eat this sort of thing to start my morning, I just do a bowl of yogurt with fruit.  It’s pretty good…but nothing too special.  Especially since…because of this whole health journey I am on…I don’t get to eat my favorite, creamy, nearly-neon yogurt that comes with big chunks of cherries in it.  Cause along with the big chunks of cherries always comes sugar or corn syrup up the wazoo.  See…here is my confession.  I’m a food blogger so I should have super fancy, uppity, refined tastes right?  Well.  I…I….I’m just going to say it….I don’t really like Greek yogurt.  ESPECIALLY plain.  Sigh.  Don’t judge me.  It’s just SO tart it almost hurts my tongue.  But if  I’m to be healthy, that’s my only option!  So I usually just chunk up enough of a sweet fruit that the juices counteract the tart and distract me.  Ha.  Silly me.  Never again.  Why did I not think of this sooner?  Look at what I did!!

Berry Good BreakfastOh.  My.  Dear.  Goodness.  Heavenly!  You can’t even see the yogurt any more, haha!!  Now, another confession…I didn’t really measure, but I don’t think that is an issue with this recipe, cause it just depends on how much you want of each thing.  So here is what you see there:

 

This is what you need:

  • Plain Greek Yogurt, 1/2 C – 1 C
  • Raspberries, a handful
  • Blackberries, a handful
  • Old Fashioned, or Stone Ground Oats, and handful
  • Thinly Sliced Almonds
  • Agave, a good drizzle!

 

Doesn’t that sound fantastic?  It had a granola feel to it, without the bad stuff they usually put in granola!  I have found the Naked brand of granola to be so delicious, but the kinds I have found always have craisins with sugar in them, or banana chips with sugar in them, etc…  Stink.  But I’m sure you can find purely healthy granola if you want to use that instead.  But what I loved about this is that I wasn’t even planning on making it, but found all these things just hanging out on my shelves, begging to be used.  The almonds added a nice crunch, the oats added a fantastic flavor that was almost sweet…and of course the agave stirred in gave it that sweetness I craved to mask the tart Greek yogurt taste.

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Put the desired amount of yogurt in a small bowl.
  2. Drizzle the top with agave, depending on much sweetness you desire.
  3. Sprinkle with oats, almonds, and berries.
  4. Stir it all up, or eat it in layers like a parfait!  Whichever you prefer 🙂  For additional pleasure, take this outside into the morning sunshine and soak in some well deserved Vitamin D while you delight your taste buds and love your body.

 

Remember when choosing between a donut, sausage Mcmuffin, and artificially flavored smoothie and something like this recipe….

YOUR BODY IS A TEMPLE, NOT A TRASH CAN!

And you are a treasure that deserves only the best!!  Happy eating friends!

 

4 thoughts on “Berry Good Breakfast!

  1. It is, unfortunately, unless you have found some that has no sweetener 😦 If it is sweetened with honey, I think that is fine…but most of them have sugar or corn syrup or cane sugar/syrup…or one of the other words they use to disguise the same things, like dextrose, etc… Boooo.

Leave a Reply

