Lemon Dijon Broccoli, Roasted or Raw!

My husband…is my treasure.  He is also…a weirdo.  Especially when it comes to food temperatures.  Apparently, warming things up is too much of a hassle.  He’ll eat all sorts of things cold…restaurant leftovers, mashed potatoes, burgers…bleh!  This is coming from the lady that hates even eating pizza cold 😉  But that is a little weird, right?  I mean, come on…cold mashed potatoes?!  (Though, really…I was raised with three brothers….I should know by now that he is a boy, which means he is probably doing those things in front of me just cause he enjoys my reaction :P).  Anywho.  Most of the time I freak out and have to turn around when he is eating strange cold substances.  But a few nights ago the situation had a funny twist.

Do you remember when I was mentioning in my Caper Green Beans post that I have been so pleased to discover all the different things you can do with veggies simply by tossing them in different vinaigrette variations?  Well…this is one of the experimental variations I have come up with, all by myself.  And may I just say…I ROCKED IT!  Haha.

So.  I was preparing to roast some broccoli…I had it all washed, chopped up, I mixed up a nice sauce and tossed the broccoli in it, then dumped it out on my baking sheet…but right before I tossed it in the oven, sweet husband walked up and grabbed a piece. He had smelled the sauce from the living room and had to inspect.   In usual OCD chef form, I started flipping out!  My first thought; “no! Don’t do that!  What if we won’t have enough?!”  (Wow…like one floret is going to change the success of a meal.)  My second thought; “what the heck?!  That’s gross I have to cook it!  You’re so weird!  Don’t…no…wait…stop…oh.  You did it.”  (Apparently I forgot that I gladly eat raw broccoli with veggie dip.)  His eyes got wide, he grabbed another floret and shoved it in my face.  I started squirming away but he kept insisting that it was “SO GOOD.”  So I finally gave in, he plopped it in my mouth…and it was DELICIOUS!  So garlicky, tart, and wonderful.  Like seriously, I would make it for a snack!  So we laughed together, and I popped it in the oven, saying “Wouldn’t that be so sad if it’s not good roasted?”  Good news.  It was good roasted too!  A different kind of crunchy, the ends slightly blackened and roasted, lemony and still garlicky…but somehow, a different flavor!  And so.  In this recipe, you have a choice.  Hot or cold?  Yum either way!!!!

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 Large head Broccoli, or 2 Small (I used 3 of the chunks you buy individually instead of the pre-wrapped heads)
  • 3 Tbsp Butter, melted
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 tsp Sour Cream
  • 2 tsp Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Few Squirts of Hot Sauce

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees if you are roasting.
  2. Wash and dry your broccoli, and chop into florets.
  3. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a small bowl.
  4. Place your broccoli in a large bowl, drizzle with the sauce, and toss together so it all seems to be coated.
  5. Eat raw, OR cover a baking sheet with foil for easier clean up, and dump your broccoli onto it in a single layer.
  6. Roast for 30-45 minutes, turning every 15 minutes.  I like ours really crispy and blackened, so I left mine in pretty long…but that part is up to you!!!

Serve with a lovely protein, and enjoy!

Mix up your sauce!!  Just like a vinaigrette, but I used melted butter instead of olive oil!  I love the taste of butter on veggies…and did you know that if you really get down to the nitty gritty of health…it is not recommended that you cook with olive oil?  Apparently heating olive oil destroys every health benefit and something happens chemically that can actually cause it to be harmful.  Weird, huh?  That’s definitely what I was told growing up, but we have learned that in some of our research.  So save the olive oil for salad dressings…and if you’re gonna heat a dish…stick to coconut oil or butter.  Yes, I actually think butter in moderation is a good thing 🙂

Lemon Mustard Broccoli 1

Choppy choppy broccoli broccoli!!!!

Lemon Mustard Broccoli 2

Tossin it with the sauce, hey hey hey hey!

Lemon Mustard Broccoli 3Now roast it, or just eat it cold!  You decide!!  Here’s to Mr. Rodgers for making that fine discovery…without his persistence I would have turned up my nose and never known how wonderful it could be!

Lemon Mustard Broccoli 4

Here it is being served with my new favorite, TURKEY FETA BURGERS!  Yeah baby!  See how crispy I got it?  Yay.  Beautiful combo.  Lovely meal.  My favorite company, even if he’s a weirdo.  It was a wonderful moment 🙂  I hope you have a moment just as wonderful with this meal!  Try it out and let me know what you think 🙂

Feta Burger and Broccoli

Leave a Reply

