Turkey Feta Burgers.

Ah.  Aaaaaaaah.  AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

 

This was really good.  For real.  I am so sad that I didn’t make a flippin quadruple batch.  What.  Was I thinking?  Whyyyyyyyyyyyy?

Dramatic?  Perhaps.  But if you try this, I think you will agree that this recipe is worth the drama.  If you have followed me for very long, you probably know of my love for cheeseburgers.  My Achilles heel when it comes to healthy eating.  This was a very healthy way to satisfy that ravenous hunger.  And you know what’s crazy?  I made these for dinner, then took the one remaining patty to work the next day and warmed it up for lunch.  It was even BETTER the next day!  Crazy sauce.  No more talk.  Let’s get to the recipe.

Adapted from womenshealthmag.com.

 

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1 lb Ground Turkey
  • 4 oz Crumbled Feta Cheese
  • 4 oz Roasted Red Pepper, chopped
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 3/4 tsp Greek Seasoning
  • Black Pepper to taste
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • Handful of Spinach
  • 1 Cucumber, sliced
  • Your favorite tzatziki sauce, optional (the original said just to mix plain Greek yogurt with lemon juice.  I already have a hard time with the tartness of plain yogurt, so I omitted a sauce all together.  My husband tried it with the lemon/yogurt combo and wasn’t impressed with the sauce.  It really didn’t need it.  But I bet it would be great with a proper tzatziki!)
  • Whole grain hamburger buns or a Portabella for gluten free folks, optional.  We ate it with no bun, and were completely satisfied!

 

And here’s how you do it!

  1. Combine first seven ingredients in a bowl.  Get down and get dirty, mix it up with your hands!!!  Doesn’t it smell sooooooo good?  Note…the texture may seem concerning…I thought it was too thin, but it worked perfectly!  Don’t fear!
  2. Form into four even patties, don’t forget to put a small well in the middle to help them to cook flat!
  3. Toss them into the freezer for a couple minutes while you clean your counters, slice your cucumbers, and rinse your spinach.  My husband gave me this tip.  Apparently that is what Bobby Flay does when he makes burgers.  It helps them not fall apart!
  4. Heat a pan over medium heat, with a Tablespoon of butter in the bottom.
  5. Place the patties in your warm pan, cover, and cook for seven minutes.
  6. Flip, and cook another 5 minutes uncovered.
  7. Place on a plate, spread some of your sauce on if you went that route, top with cucumber slices and spinach.  Eat.  Be amazed.

SO.  GOOD.

 

Chop your roasted red pepper, and mince your garlic.  Prep prep prep.

Turkey Feta Burger 1Put the first seven ingredients together in a bowl.

Turkey Feta Burger 2Don’t forget the egg!  I forgot it until after I had taken the pictures 😉  Mix it all together with your hands!  I recommend taking your rings off first 😉  It’s amazing how good it smells already at this stage.

Turkey Feta Burger 3Form into four patties, not forgetting to put a small well in the middle to help them cook flat!

Turkey Feta Burger 4Place them in the freezer for a couple of minutes.  This will help them bind together and keep a good shape.  Now you can make sure your spinach is rinsed, your cucumbers are sliced, your sauce is prepped (if you decided to make a tzatziki style sauce), and your counters are clear.

Turkey Feta Burger 5Heat a pan over medium heat, with a tablespoon of butter in the bottom.  Place the patties in the pan, cover, and cook for seven minutes.  Remove lid, flip, and cook five more minutes.

Turkey Feta Burger 6Remove and place on a whole grain bun, a portabella, or straight on your plate like we did 🙂  Top with your sauce (optional), cucumber slices, and spinach leaves.  You’re ready to enjoy!

Turkey Feta Burger 7

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Turkey Feta Burgers.

  1. Holy monkeys…these were ahhhmazing! I have been anticipating cooking and eating them for days, and they definitely did not dissapoint. My first bite made my eyes roll back (like too good to chew, just let it melt there for a while) when I opened my eyes and looked at my husband he started noddong furiously in agreement. My two year old devoured hers. My 8 month old is still eating (devouring is a better word) and even my picky eater ate it. She may not have loved it this time, but there were no yucky faces or grumbles , so I know next round she will looooove it. And there will definitely be a next round. As soon as I buy more turkey!

Leave a Reply

