Creamy Pepper and Onion Omelet

I didn’t think I liked Omelets.  And then I actually tried some.  Ha!  They’re really good!  And there are so many ways to stuff them!!  I’m finding they are a staple for healthy breakfasts 🙂  And, as you know…this one started with my favorites…peppers and onions!!!!  And the goat cheese makes it nice and creamy!  Great texture, great taste, great dish!

Fun side story…I love being married.  Haha.  I don’t make omelets very often.  I tend to stick with smoothies and scrambled eggs, cause I usually have a 1 year old whining to get out of her high chair…so I can’t spend a lot of time and focus on breakfast 😉  But I really needed to use up the ingredients I had planned for this dish…so I decided no matter what, I was going to make this dang omelet!  Well, by the time I finally got to it, it was almost lunch time.  I believe it was 11:30.  But I did it, snapped a photo, and proudly sent it to my husband to show him my handy work!  Within seconds, I received a text message from him, with a picture of the omelet HE had made.  He hadn’t seen my text yet.  I hadn’t seen his.  It was between breakfast and lunch time…and we texted each other with pictures of the omelets we made at the EXACT SAME TIME!  Our texts ended with the same word!!  And I was across town from him, and hadn’t talked to him yet that day!!  How funny is that?!  So precious!!!  I seriously LOVE being married to that man!!  Perhaps its silly…but I love the reminder that we are one 😉  See?  Look!

Omelet Text

Cuuuuuuute!!!  Okay…now you know my story…on to business!!

As you guessed…this was adapted from perfectweightamerica.com!

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/4 Onion, Sliced
  • 1/4 Bell Pepper of your favorite color, Sliced (original says red)
  • 1-2 Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 oz Goat Cheese, Crumbled
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Butter, divided
  • 1 Tbsp Water
  • Parsley

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Melt 1 Tbsp of your butter in a saute pan.  
  2. Toss in your onion, garlic and pepper and saute.  Set aside.
  3. Whisk together the eggs and water in a bowl.
  4. Melt the remaining butter in the pan.
  5. Pour in the eggs.  Cook for a few minutes, until the eggs are mostly set and just beginning to get golden brown.
  6. Place your onions, peppers, and goat cheese on one half of the omelet.  Sprinkle with parsley to taste.
  7. Fold over, let sit for a minute or so until your cheese is getting melty, and slide it onto your plate.
  8. Garnish as you please!  Sour cream, hot sauce, avocados, parsley…whatever floats your boat!  I used a mixture of sriracha and sour cream…similar to a sauce they serve my favorite sushi with at Marine Polis SushiLand!  Plus…we just love using hot sauce because it is great flavor, and is allowed on the diet.  Who knew that hot sauce isn’t full of crap?!  Yay 😀

Prep your stuff!!  As you can see…I used red onions.  You don’t have to do that…I just had extra red onion from previous meals and wanted to get rid of it 🙂

Onion Pepper Goat Cheese Omelet 1

Add 1 Tbsp of butter to the pan over medium heat.  Melt it and add your garlic, onion, and pepper and saute.  Set aside.

Onion Pepper Goat Cheese Omelet 2

Melt the remaining 1/2 Tbsp of butter in your pan.  Whisk the eggs together with the water until just combined, and pour in the pan.  Cook a few minutes, until the eggs are mostly set and are just starting to get a golden brown color.
Onion Pepper Goat Cheese Omelet 3

Place the pepper, onions, garlic, and goat cheese on half of the omelet.  Sprinkle with parsley to taste.

Onion Pepper GOat Cheese Omelet 4

Fold over, and let sit just long enough for the cheese to melt.

Onion Pepper Goat Cheese Omelet 5

Slide it onto your plate…

Onion Pepper Goat Cheese Omelet 6

Doesn’t that look yummy?  Mmmm melty!!!  Now, garnish how you please!!  I totally tried to be artsy and cute…not sure how well it worked out haha!!!  But I suggest hot sauce, sour cream, and some additional parsley.  Hot sauce is mainly just peppers and vinegar, without extra crap…and the sour cream cuts the heat a bit so you have a nice addition of flavor 🙂  Enjoy!!!

Onion Pepper Goat Cheese Omelet 7

4 thoughts on “Creamy Pepper and Onion Omelet

  1. You two are adorable! I love goat cheese, although I haven’t tried it inside of an omelet before. My family and I usually stuck to the traditional bacon-and-cheese variety instead. Guess we were missing out!

  2. Haha thanks, I tend to think so too 😉 Goat cheese is so great, it makes things creamy and goat’s milk is better for you than cow’s! I hope I have opened your eyes to be able to experiment with omelets, my husband is CONSTANTLY trying new variations, I call him the “Omelet Master.” I’ll be posting some of his recipes soon 🙂 However…bacon and cheese…definitely a favorite. MMM!

Leave a Reply

