Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils

This recipe…is a treasure. I ate two bowls last night and wanted more, but had to refrain in order to stretch our meals…we need to go grocery shopping 😉 Eh hem. And then I ate two more bowls today. Hehe. But you know what’s most exciting about this? It started out as a simple lentil soup recipe…and I butchered it!! Muaha! And it worked…really well! Like seriously…I added so much, it has gotten to the point where it’s beyond recognition. In fact…I was so excited about my recipe butchering (I hope you know I mean that in a good way 😉 ) that I had to text my sister-in-law Dani to share the news…and she congratulated me on using the recipe not as rules, but more like guidelines. Insert Pirates of the Caribbean quote here 😉 Anywho…if you knew me closely, you would know how big of a deal this is for me, and you would be rejoicing with me 🙂 Yay!!! This “diet” has been so good for me in that respect. I’m getting adventurous! And I’m so glad you are all along for the ride 🙂

So. On to the recipe! It started basically as a few veggies and lentils. Well…I had a few extra veggies going bad that I figured I’d throw in there. Then I noticed the chicken breast that had been sitting in my fridge thawed for a few days! Can’t let that go bad!!! Then I gave in to a common temptation I have…I love corn in soups. So I added corn. Then the veggies and the cumin in the recipe started making me think about tacos. Beautiful, wonderful, delicious tacos that I don’t get to eat very often any more. So I busted out the ingredients for home made taco seasoning and, BAM! You have this beauty. I’m serious. This recipe is beautiful. Please make it. You want to know one more wonderful thing? Nothing in this recipe came from a can. YEAH BABY! I think its an extremely healthy, satisfying meal!!

So, here’s what you need:

  • 1-2 large Chicken Breast, cubed

  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil

  • 1 Jalapeno, seeded and minced

  • 3-5 Stalks Celery, chopped

  • About 2 Qts Chicken Stock

  • 3 large carrots, sliced

  • 1 Onion, diced

  • 1 T Minced Garlic

  • 2 Medium tomatoes, diced

  • 1 Green Bell Pepper, diced

  • 1 C fresh or frozen corn

  • ½ lb Lentils

  • 1 sprig oregano, leaves pulled off and chopped

  • ½ tsp Chili Powder

  • ¼ tsp Red Pepper Flakes

  • ¼ tsp Paprika

  • 1 ½ tsp Sea Salt

  • 1 tsp Cumin

  • 1 tsp Coriander

And here’s how you do it! It’s not scary, I promise 🙂

  1. Slice, dice, chop, mince…get prepped!!!

  2. Generously salt and pepper your chopped chicken.

  3. Get a real big pot! At least 6 quarts. Melt your coconut oil over medium heat. Add all your veggies minus the tomatoes and saute for about 7 minutes.

  4. Toss in your chicken and saute about 5 more minutes.

  5. Add tomatoes and stir everything up, cook for another minute or so.

  6. Finish off with as much of the chicken stock as you can fit, spices, and lentils.

  7. Bring to a boil, the reduce to a simmer and leave it for 35 minutes, giving it an occasional stir! Top with a bit of sour cream, shredded cheddar, perhaps some avocado…whatever you desire! Annnnd…you’re done! SO DELICIOUS!

    I hope you love this as much as I did…the beautiful taste of tacos, mixed with the satisfying heartiness of lentils (which is quite comforting, really), and with so many stinking veggies that your insides will thank you 🙂  Here’s some photos!!

Prep your veggies!!! Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils 1   Aren’t they pretty?!  SO MANY VEGGIES!  My favorite 🙂  I have to add one more photo of them…just so you can see my cup in the background.  Can you see it?!  It was my birthday present from my wonderful friends Costa and Karen…hand made with a quote from Meet The Robinsons (FAVORITE!).  “I’ve got this big head and little arms…”  Hahahahahaaa. Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils 6 Saute all the veggies (minus tomatoes) in coconut oil for about 7 minutes… Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils 2 Chop your chicken…salt and pepper generously… Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils 3 Add chicken and saute about 5 more minutes.  Stir in tomatoes…then add the rest! Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils 4 Bring to a boil, reduce heat and let simmer for 35 minutes.  Scoop into bowls and serve with cheddar, sour cream, whatever you want!! Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils 5 And…if you want to step a little outside the “super healthy” realm, but crank it up a notch and still be decently healthy…grab a bag of these! Hearty Chicken Taco Soup with Lentils Last

Leave a Reply

