Citrus and Chicken Salad!!!

I had been looking forward to making this salad for SO long.  I kept meaning to get the stuff to make it, but would end up saving it for “next time,” because we had so much extra tuna for lunches!  But finally, I just decided I was tired of waiting and this was the week!!  I’m so glad I did…it was so FUN!  Perfect lunch…lots of greens, super great citrus flavor (I LOVE GRAPEFRUIT!!!), some good protein, sooooooo many veggies, and a refreshing vinaigrette!!  Mmmm.  Sheer beauty!!  And quite satisfying.  And another great thing…it said it would only serve 4….LIES!  I’m convinced it can serve more 🙂  And if you keep the dressing and salad separate until you are ready to eat individual servings, it stays good for days 🙂  Or, make this for company and you will look so impressive and fancy!!!  It made me feel fancy 😀

Grapefruit Salad 2

Note:  I took a picture before I got it tossed thoroughly enough!  I realized after that there was a lot of yummy veggies and grapefruit chunks at the bottom haha.  So don’t worry, it’s not 90% romaine, there’s lotsa goodies all through it! 🙂

So, here’s what you need:

Salad:

  • 4 Chicken Breasts, cooked and cubed or shredded (I tossed mine on a grill pan with salt & pepper while I prepped)
  • 2 Grapefruits, peeled; wedges separated (use a small sharp knife to help if needed) and cut in half
  • 2 Carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1/4-1/2 Small Red Onion, thinly sliced (depends on your tastes)
  • 1 Cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 8 oz package Snow Peas
  • 1 Apple, thinly sliced
  • 2 Hearts of Romaine, cut or torn into bite size pieces

Dressing:

  • 2 Oranges, juiced
  • 1/2 Grapefruit, juiced
  • 1/4 C Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt
  • 2 tsp Ginger (I used paste)
  • 1 tsp chili sauce (I used Sriracha!! Yay!)
  • 1/2 C Cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 C Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp of a natural sweetener (Optional.  I didn’t use it, it didn’t need it I don’t think!  But I love grapefruit as is :))

Doesn’t that sound like the craziest dressing you have ever heard of?  It’s sooooo good!!  The ginger and sriracha give it a mild heat, that warms up only after you’ve taken a few bites…and it gives it a sort of Asian feel.  But the grapefruit makes it sooooo refreshing, the apple brings a sweetness and a crunch, and the chicken is tasty and fills any carnivore needs.  Oh, and the cilantro is a nice finishing touch!  I love cilantro! Mmm!  Yummy. And you know what else is great?  Because of the citrus in it…my apples didn’t get brown at all…and I was still eating the FRESH salad like 4 days later.  They still weren’t brown!

Here’s how you do it 🙂

  1. Prep your veggies.  I sliced everything really thin with a sharp knife, but it is recommended that you can use a mandolin as well.  If you have one, go for it!!
  2. Whisk together the dressing ingredients.  Taste and adjust as you desire 🙂
  3. Toss together all your salad ingredients.
  4. Here is where you decide; if you are serving 4-6 people, toss it all with the dressing.  If you are using it for your lunch and can’t finish it, put some salad in a bowl, add as much dressing as you desire, and put the rest in the fridge for later 🙂
  5. Enjoy great flavor ALONG WITH a wonderful healthy feeling 🙂

Here’s my first step 🙂  See how thinly I got those veggies?  I was so proud of me 😉  And I only ended up using about half that amount of onion 😉  Are you so excited about having all those goodies in a salad?!  And that’s not even all of them!

Grapefruit SaladLook at how much mine made!!!  Two bowls!  Serves 4?  I don’t think so!!  Perhaps its cause I didn’t follow the recipe exactly 😉

Grapefruit Salad 3Yummy yummy yummy!

Grapefruit Salad 1

You know one of my favorite things about a meal like this is?  Don’t laugh, but….it’s this…VEGETABLE CARNAGE!  When I look down and see this in my sink, I just know….wow….I’m heating healthy!!  YES!

Grapefruit Salad 5

Leave a Reply

