Layered Pepper Steak

So…to my faithful followers…do you remember my Steak Roll Ups post?!  If you do…you’ll remember me saying that it was born out of the fact that I was planning on making one recipe, but ended up with the wrong kind of steak.  Well…this is that recipe, how it was supposed to be.  Or…at least close to it.  😉  It was a very fun idea and easy process, I liked it!!  And it’s a good base to play with as well, so have fun with it and let me know how it goes.  I wanna start hearing about you guys’ food adventures!!! 🙂

Photo (13)

Ohhh yum, eh?  I wish I would have taken a picture of one of the steaks that had a bigger slab of pepper! Don’t worry…I accounted for that in my adjustments for the recipe I’m giving you 🙂  All of yours should have a perfect slab of pepper 🙂

Here’s what you need, you need, you need, here’s what you need for the recipeeeeeeeeee!

(In case you are wondering…yes, yes I was singing that as a song in my head.  To the tune of the “let’s name the zones” song that school teacher sings on Finding Nemo.  I may be a good cook, but I’m also kiiiiind of a child :D)

  • 1 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 2 Bell Peppers of your favorite color (green was good but I think a sweeter one would be even better), sliced into at least 6 large chunks, as flat as possible
  • 1 Red Onion, sliced into 6 discs.
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • About 1/4 C Amino Acids or Tamari GF Soy Sauce
  • 32 oz steak

And here is what you dooooo, here is what you doooooooo….

(Yeah…that one was to Bethel’s “This is what you do”)

  1. Preheat your broiler.
  2. Put the steak pieces into a bowl, and squirt enough Amino Acids (or soy sauce) to give them a good coating.  You’re gonna do a sort of quick marinating.  Add the garlic, a small amount of salt and some pepper.  Toss and let sit while you do the rest of your prep.  Another good option is to plan ahead and do this a couple of hours before!
  3. Coat a baking dish with the butter.  I find it works well to use a basting brush 🙂
  4. When you are satisfied with how long your steaks have marinated, place them in the dish.  Top each with an onion disc and a bell pepper slab.
  5. Broil until it reaches your desired amount of doneness, flipping at least once (replace the onion and pepper on top when you do).  The original said 3-4 minutes per side…that was definitely not enough for ours!  I’d say start with about 7 minutes per side, depending on how thick your steaks are.  Then check the doneness…I know everybody likes theirs different!!  Feel free to adjust accordingly 🙂
  6. See, wasn’t that easy?  Serve with some veggies, and enjoy!!!!  There’s so many different ways you could tweak this, who’s got a good idea? 😀

See how the peppers get a nice roast?  And the onions cook just enough to not be overwhelmingly “loud,” but to add a nice flavor to the dish.  It’s great to get a little bite of onion and pepper with each bit of steak…it’s like a super protein-y stir fry or something, haha!

Photo (15)

Mmmmmm!

Photo (12)Adapted from perfectweightamerica.com

Leave a Reply

