Two Pepper Fritatta

This was something new for me!  It’s a recipe that was on our meal plan, but I had never even heard of a fritatta!!!  Well…I still can’t tell you exactly what it is…somewhere between a quiche, an omelet, and my mother’s “German Pancakes”…but I can tell you that I have tried multiple recipes for fritattas, and I LIKE ‘EM!!  At least made a certain way, and with certain recipes!  I’ve been tweaking my technique since this one, and do believe I have it closer to perfect, so I will apply those techniques to this recipe too so you can have the wonderful, golden-brown, crispy crusted, super fluffy results that I have gotten recently.  Yummmmyyyyy protein-y tasty delicious breakfast!!!  I hope you enjoy!

Photo (11)

Here’s what you need:

  • 6 Eggs
  • 1 C Sour Cream
  • 1 Onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 Small Red Bell Pepper, julienned
  • 1 Small Yellow Bell Pepper, julienned
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese (limit to 2 oz if you are making for dieting purposes)
  • Chopped Parsley (optional)

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Heat the coconut oil in a cast iron skillet, medium heat.
  3. Saute the bell peppers and onions until tender crisp! Probably about 5 minutes.  Mine still had a little crunch and I liked it in contrast to the fluffy eggs 🙂  Set them aside in a bowl.
  4. In a different, medium sized bowl, beat together the eggs and sour cream with some salt and pepper.  Add the peppers and onions and give it another stir.
  5. Melt the butter in your cast iron skillet over medium heat.   It really needs to be a cast iron skillet to get just the right crispy, crust-like effect that I loved so much!!! But it will work with any oven safe pan, just not as wonderful texture wise 🙂
  6. Once the butter is heated, pour in the egg/pepper mixture.  Cook for about 5 minutes on the stove top.
  7. Sprinkle the eggs with cheddar, then slide into your hot oven.  Bake until it raises and gets fluffy.  The original said it should only take about 4 minutes.  I usually leave mine longer…until it doesn’t jiggle in the middle any more, the cheese is melty and the sides are getting golden brown.  Probably ended up being more like 7 minutes, perhaps even up to 10.
  8. Take it out, cut into wedges, and top as you please!  We used parsley and hot sauce.  I can imagine sour cream would be good (if you don’t mind that you are already ingesting a lot of sour cream), or sliced avocados!  Perhaps even a fresh salsa!  Yum!

I hope you enjoy this new breakfast idea, adapted from perfectweightamerica.com 🙂

Don’t use the kind of pan in this picture, go for cast iron as mentioned above!!   It will be thicker (cause this pan was large so it thinned out), crispier, fluffier, golden-browner…all around delicious-er haha 🙂  But even as-is…isn’t it pretty? 😀

Photo (10)

The wonderfully, creamy-fluffy texture with the contrast of the slight veggie crunch…with my favorite classic flavors!   I tend to believe every good meal starts with an onion and some bell pepper!!  And the parsley wasn’t planned, it was left over from a previous recipe…but it added a wonderful flavor AND it looked nice!!  Two for one, can’t get better than that, right?  🙂   I hope you all like it, I will have more fritatta recipes for you later!
Photo (9)Tell me, what is a fritatta recipe you have tried and loved?  Or if you haven’t had one…what kind of flavors can you imagine going well?  Thoughts on what I should try next?  Or make your own adventure and let me know how it goes 😀

2 thoughts on “Two Pepper Fritatta

Leave a Reply

