Five Spice Veggie Saute

Wow.  Wow wow wow wow! I had never experienced Chinese Five Spice before.  As soon as I opened the bottle and sniffed it…I knew we were a match made in Heaven.  Add some fun veggies…and wow…make your tummy smile!  I love the classic flavor of just a simple veggie saute, but I tell you what…it was SO nice to discover something DIFFERENT!   It was a beautiful dish….the colors, the flavor, the speckling of herbs.  Mmmm! I love it when I can get excited about veggies!!!!  You should be excited too, cause I’m about to tell you how to make it for yourself!  Yeah baby!!!

So, here’s what you need!

  • 3 Tbsp coconut oil, divided
  • 1/2 C basil leaves, julienned (or a few good squirts of paste, obviously fresh is probably better here)
  • 1 C carrots, sliced
  • 3 Tbsp Tamari Soy Sauce or Amino Acids
  • 1/2 Bulb Fennel, sliced
  • 1 Cup Mange Tout Peas
  • 2 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Chili Sauce.  I used Sriracha.  It called for Sambal Oelek.
  • 1/2 C Cilantro leaves (or a few squirts of paste)
  • 1 tsp Chinese Five Spice
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper, julienned
  • 1 C babycorn, optional.  I didn’t have it in mine and it was still great!

And here’s how you do it:

  1. Heat 1 Tbsp of the coconut oil in a wok or large pan (highish heat)
  2. Saute carrots and fennel and saute until tender-crisp.
  3. Add bell pepper and saute a few minutes longer.
  4. Add additional coconut oil, peas, and corn and give it a stir.
  5. Add liquids and Five Spice (and herb pastes if you don’t have fresh), stir so everything is coated.  Let it cook until it reduces.
  6. Take off the heat, stir in fresh herbs, and serve!

5 Spice veggies 1Veggies, sauteeing…lots of pretty orange colors!!!  Now, add the green 😀

5 Spice Veggies 2I put more than a Cup of the peas in mine; I used a whole small bag.  I really like peas and I was trying to fill up space from leaving out the baby corn 🙂

5 Spice Veggies 3All spiced and herbed and delicious!!!

5 Spice Veggies 4A perfect compliment for my Steak Roll Ups!!! Yummmy!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

