Steak Roll Ups!!

I think this recipe is really something special!!!  Here’s my two main reasons: 1) I came up with it!!  And 2) The first bite my husband took,without hesitation he exclaimed “HOLY CRAP!!!”  Haha.  You always know you have something special when that happens. 😉

Steak Roll Ups 5

So here’s my story: I didn’t actually plan on being adventurous and trying to create something new the evening that these were birthed.  I was working over night, and my husband was meeting me there and bringing the ingredients we needed for a recipe from our Perfect Weight America meal plan.  Well, he did really good!!! He only forgot one thing.  The main ingredient haha! He’s so cute!!  So we were somehow supposed to make pepper steak without the steak.  He ended up running to Wal*Mart for some steak, and came back with thin cut since it was a good price.  However that wouldn’t work too good for the recipe we had, so I decided to wing it!!  Soooooo, here is the results of my winging…  I hope you like it!

Quick note:  I labeled this as a Perfect Weight America/Maker’s Diet approved meal, since I was using ingredients I know are allowed.  However, it is not one of their listed recipes!  But if you are following their plan, I do believe it should be kosher 🙂

Here’s what you need 🙂

  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper, sliced into small strips
  • 1 Red Onion, sliced into small strips
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp Amino Acids or Tamari GF Soy Sauce
  • 1-2 lbs Thin Cut Steak
  • Crumbled Goat Cheese (optional)
  • Sea Salt to taste
  • Freshly ground black pepper

And here’s how you do it: 😀

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Set your steak in a medium sized bowl, dump the soy sauce on top, sprinkle the garlic, and toss it all so the steaks are coated.  Let them sit while you prepare your veggies.  You could even do this a few hours before if you want 🙂  But it would be best if they sat at least a good 20 minutes.
  3. Heat your oil in a saute pan over medium heat.  Saute your onion and bell pepper a few minutes so they’re just starting to get soft.  You don’t want them to be mushy…I like having a little bit of a crispness in them 🙂 Steak Roll Ups 1
  4. Grease a casserole dish or two 🙂  I used 1.4 lbs of steak and needed two pans.
  5. Take your marinated steaks (they should have soaked up most of the liquid) and lay them out flat on a clean working space.  See how thin those guys are?!Steak Roll Ups 2
  6. Place a small amount of your sauteed veggies at one end of the steak, sprinkle on some goat cheese if you so desire…and roll it up!!!Simple Steak Roll Ups 3
  7. Place your rolls in the greased baking pans, seam side down…sprinkle a little extra salt on (just be careful, cause it’s got soy sauce already!) and a few cracks of fresh black pepper.Simple Steak Roll Ups 4
  8. Bake for about 10 minutes.  That’s what we did, and they had just a touch of pinkness left in them.  We like it like that 🙂  Tender and juicy 🙂Steak Roll Ups 5
  9. Serve with some yummy veggies!!! I can’t wait to share the 5 spice veggie recipe with you that I served by my steak rolls’ side!Steak Roll Ups 6

Look at the gooey cheese!! MMM!  I hope you LOVE it!! 🙂

Steak Roll Ups last

Leave a Reply

