PARTY PACKAGE!!! Post #4: Mediterranean Cucumber Bites

Now for our last one, we are gonna take a breather from the calories and heavy treats. Give your guests something light to make them feel good…but still tasty as I’ll get out!! This here is the perfect solution!! Also, get this…as far as I have heard, this would be approved for Perfect Weight America during Phase 2, and it’s gluten free!!! And it will give your health-sensitive guests something they can snack on without guilt. There seems to be one in every crowd!! How funny that I am becoming the one!! Though I still have a ways to go for my self control to be in check…as you will note if you read my spinach dip post 😉

Mediterranean Cucumber Bites

This is such a classic Mediterranean flavor combo…and the feta was a huge draw for lots of people. I even prepared them hours early and they were still crisp and fresh when I took them out of the fridge for the party!!

I made about 36 cups, we had a few left over that were snatched up and put on “take home plates” pretty quickly 😉 I think I only ended up with two in my fridge for the husband to try!

Sooooo, here’s what you need:

  • 4 Cucumbers

  • A small red onion, or about half a medium one, chopped nice and small. (It’s one of those things that you can eyeball, you don’t want it to be overwhelming but it definitely needs that flavor kick! I personally love red onion!)

  • Red bell pepper, finely chopped

  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and finely chopped

  • A generous 1/3 C sliced black olives

  • ½ Tbsp dried oregano

  • Crumbled Feta to taste. The original would have had me use ¼ C…I did more somewhere between 1/3 C and ½ C. TABBY LIKE FETA!

  • ½ C Parsley, chopped

  • Juice of 2 lemons, plus zest (if your lemons are big, use the juice of 1 ½ then do a taste test!)

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

  • Salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

And here’s how you do it!!! It’s hard to believe something this cute can be this easy!

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the veggies, olives, feta, lemon juice, zest, salt, pepper and herbs. Taste. Adjust salt, pepper, and lemon juice as needed. But it shouldn’t need much change!!

  2. Peel your cucumbers, but not all the way if you want them to look cute and stripey!! Leave thin strips of the green skin for a beautiful presentation 🙂 Trim the ends so they are flat, then cut each cucumber into slices that are about an inch thick. Bite sized, yay!

  3. Take a melon baller (so handy!) and scoop a “bowl” into the center of each slice. Obviously you need to leave walls and some flesh in the bottom so your filling doesn’t fall out!! 🙂

    Aren't they just so cute sitting there awaiting their filling? :)

    Aren’t they just so cute sitting there awaiting their filling? 🙂

  4. Spoon your Mediterranean salad filling into the center of your cucumber bowls!!! Put on a pretty plate or platter, and enjoy making people happy!!! Perfect addition to a night of fun!!

Thanks for looking at my “Party Package,” I hope you’ve enjoyed this 4-for-1 special 😉 I can’t wait to throw another party so I can try more recipes and share my successes with you 🙂

Thanks to richestoragsbydori.blogspot.com for the inspiration! These were a big hit!

4 thoughts on “PARTY PACKAGE!!! Post #4: Mediterranean Cucumber Bites

  1. Since my birthday party involved me, the hubs, three kids (one who only eats mush still) and steak, but I knew how good this was, and had plenty of feta afted making the amazing turkey feta burgers, I chopped thw cuke up and tossed everything with a bed of spinach. And yes, it was delightful. Made a perfectly delicious salad that required no dressing. Yumm yum.

Leave a Reply

