PARTY PACKAGE!!! Post #3: White Wine Sangria

Yeah baby. That’s all I can say. Perfect amount of sweet in my opinion, with a nice fresh fruit flavor! And the basil was such a nice, unexpected touch. It was comforting and refreshing all at the same time, and everybody that tried it loved it!!! And everybody that couldn’t try it because they were pregnant…whined cause they wanted to try it. That’s a good sign, right? πŸ˜‰

Note that I took this photo after the party, yours will not start out with this much color in the liquid :)

Note that I took this photo after the party, yours will not start out with this much color in the liquid πŸ™‚

It was so pretty, and so yummy, and so easy that I just want to stop talking and tell you how to make it for yourself!! So here we go!! Feel free to slim down the proportions for a more intimate gathering, cause I made it party sized πŸ™‚

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 lb fresh strawberries, trimmed sliced

  • 2 apples, diced into little squares

  • ΒΎ oz-ish fresh basil leaves (I went light on them since it was my first attempt, feel free to change it to your tastes. The original called for much more but I was cautioned that basil can be overwhelming)

  • 2 bottles of your favorite Chardonnay (I used Barefoot and in the mix it was quite good)

  • 1 C sugar

  • 1 Bottle sparkling white grape juice. Yummy.

And here’s how you do it!

  1. Don’t cut up the basil leaves!! Massage them a bit, or β€œscore” them with a fork to release their flavor. But leave them whole. It’s prettier and I’ve heard they can get stuck in your teeth if you slice them up.

  2. In your serving vessel, put a layer of fruit, some of your sugar, more fruit/basil, more sugar, etc… Let it sit for at least 10 minutes. Ours sat a little longer cause I was looking for the sugar to turn pink…it will draw out the juices of the fruits and pull out wonderful flavors πŸ™‚

  3. Add your liquids, and stir well!!! You can add ice if you’re gonna serve it fast but I didn’t want it to get watered down so I served ice on the side πŸ™‚ Up to you!

  4. Drink responsibly, and enjoy! I sure did!! And so did my guests. Some of them were repeating themselves over and over…. β€œThis is so good!” Haha, it was cute. And a sign that you should try this πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

