PARTY PACKAGE!! Post #2: Spinach Dip Bites!

Photo (3)

These were definitely the favorite of the things I served at our girls’ night!! And I think you’ll love them too!!! They are pretty seriously delicious…I was so nervous because I had never made a spinach dip before, so I had no reference to know if it was a good dip recipe!! Well after a few tastes, adding a little too much of this and balancing it out with a little extra of that…I plopped them into the oven, took them out about 20 minutes later and passed them around and was met with lots of “OH MY GOSH”’s. As you can imagine, seeing as it was a girls’ night 😉 But really. They were that good. And how fun that they are so cute and everybody gets their own little serving…or 5…I mean…WHAT?! This gluten-free, Maker’s Diet girl didn’t cheat that bad did she?! *Hangs her head in shame* But hey…that just goes to tell you how good these little beauties are! 😉

So really, please make these. Your guests will love you forever.

Oh, and it made me about 24 little bites of Heaven 🙂

Here’s what you need!!! 🙂

  • 2 Cans Refrigerator French Bread Dough, like Pillsbury

  • 4 Tablespoons Olive Oil

  • 4 Cups Baby Spinach, coarsely chopped. I still had pretty big pieces.

  • 3 Cloves Fresh Garlic, minced (or about a 1 ½ tsp of the minced stuff in a jar)

  • 6 oz Cream Cheese, softened

  • 1 C Sour Cream

  • ¼ tsp Chile Powder (Plus a few extra shakes!)

  • ¼ tsp Garlic Salt (Plus a few extra shakes!)

  • ¼ tsp Sea Salt

  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper to taste…I’m from the Kirkwood family…we like lots of fresh ground black pepper!!! Can I get a witness?!

  • Parmesan, shredded

  • Mozzarella, shredded

  • Non stick spray, or oil or butter!

And here’s how you do it! It’s not that tricky!

  1. Preheat your oven to 350!

  2. Spray two muffin tins with cooking spray, or oil them however you choose! Of course if you are like me and only have one muffin tin you can do it in shifts, the guests loved walking in to the smell of them cooking and having a fresh hot batch coming out mid-party, after the first batch was gone! Yeah that’s right…they didn’t last long!

  3. Slice each roll of dough into 12 slices, about an inch thick. If you are doing shifts, leave the roll you aren’t working with in the fridge cause they are easier to manipulate when they’re cold, and they won’t stick to your fingers that way!

  4. Squish them down into disks, about 3 inches across, and press into your muffin cups. They don’t have to come all the way up the sides! Just so you have a bit of a “cup” to scoop your filling into 🙂 Speaking of, let’s set aside that tin and make you some deeeeelicious filling!

  5. Heat oil in a pan (I just used my soup pot) over medium heat. Add your chopped spinach and stir for about 3 minutes. It should be nice and wilty by then!

  6. Add garlic, stir and cook for about another minute.

  7. Add the rest of your ingredients other than your Parmesan and Mozzarella, and stir until its combined and you don’t have any huge chunks of cream cheese. Alternately, you could add the Parmesan into the filling if you want…I just didn’t do it that way haha!

  8. With a cookie scoop, or just a simple spoon, scoop your spinach dip into each of your waiting bread “cups.”

  9. Top with shredded cheese!! This is where I used both Parmesan and Mozzarella! And I didn’t measure, which is why I didn’t give you any quantities…I just know I love cheese so I put a real generous topping!!!

  10. Bake for about 20 minutes. That’s how long mine took but you should probably start checking them around 17 minutes. You’re just going for a light golden brown crust on your cheese and tint to the edges of the bread.

  11. Put on a cute little plate or platter. Leave out and watch my favorite magic trick…it’s the disappearing appetizer!!! 🙂 And have fun at your party!!

Creamy, spinachy, cheesy bliss!

Creamy, spinachy, cheesy bliss!

Thank you, picky-palate.com for the inspiration!!! Next time, when I have more time…I can’t wait to try and figure out how to work in artichokes! Glory!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

