Seared Salmon with Warm Lentil Salad

photo (1)

I never realized that healthy food can be comfort food.  Warm.  Tasty.  Fills up the tummy and makes you wanna curl up on the couch and just…be still.  That’s what this was for me!! And so very, very simple!!

This was my first experience with lentils! And I must say, I very much enjoyed it! Pleasantly surprised.  We ate leftovers for days and were happy about it!! 😉

This IS a Perfect Weight America recommended meal, so…if you are going for super health, try and get all your ingredients fresh and organic.

So, here’s what you need 🙂

  • 1 Tbsp Garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • Salt to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1 C Chicken Stock (Preferably free range!)
  • 3 Carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 Onions, chopped
  • 1 lb Lentils
  • 2 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 3 Sprigs Fresh Thyme, leaves stripped
  • 24 oz Wild Caught Salmon Fillets (Fresh or frozen…but fresh will taste better and probably be more moist!!) cut into 4 even pieces!

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Bring 6 Cups of water to a boil.  Add lentils and remove from heat, cover, and let sit for 20 minutes.  Set your timer and continue prep!! But don’t forget to drain them after 20 minutes!  This was so interesting to me…I had never heard of this technique…kinda like a fast-soak! Who knew?!
  3. In a nice big pot, heat up 2 Tbsps of  your coconut oil.  Saute your onions, thyme, salt and pepper for about 8 minutes.
  4. Add garlic, stir, and cook for 1 minute.
  5.  Add carrots, lentils, chicken stock, and tomato paste. Stir it all together, bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes, or until the lentils are tender.
  6. Heat a large, oven safe pan to high heat.  The original recipe says to rub the last 1 Tbsp of coconut oil on the salmon fillets.  I found that…icky and not-working-y.  So I took a couple Tbsps of coconut oil, melted it and drizzled it over one side of the fillets.  Then gave it a nice shaking of salt and pepper.
  7. Toss the fillets in the hot pan.  If you are using the melted coconut oil method, put it coated side down, then drizzle the rest of the coconut oil on the other sides of the salmon while it cooks and sprinkle salt and pepper on it! You’re going for a sear here, so just cook them about 3 minutes.  Flip them, then transfer immediately to the hot oven in the pan.  Cook 4-6 additional minutes, or until its done to whatever degree you desire 🙂  I didn’t have a big enough pan, so I had to cook my fish in shifts…I had a casserole dish heating up in the oven, so when it came time to transfer it to the oven, I set it straight into the 450 degree casserole dish while I seared the next shift.  It worked pretty good!
  8. Take out and serve with your warm lentil salad.  SOOOO warm and wonderful!

Credit to Perfectweightamerica.com for this beauty! I barely changed anything!! I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

