Clean Out the Crisper Muffins! (Carrot Zucchini Muffins)

Oh my! These carrot zucchini muffins are quite delicious! Though I more fondly like to call them “clean out the crisper” muffins 🙂

I realized the other day that I still had a very large zucchini from my little garden…and it was just begging me to use it before it went bad! I was looking up zucchini bread recipes when I realized…I don’t have a loaf pan! When I switched to looking for a muffin recipe, I was IMMEDIATELY surprised by and drawn to a recipe that used both zucchini AND carrot!! I had accidentally bought carrots when I already had a bag in the crisper.  PERFECT! Clean out the crisper muffins.  And I took it a step further and decided to use up some left over chocolate chips…so I guess now they are clean out the crisper and the cupboard muffins.  And they’re delicious.  I saw my husband eating one and asked if he liked them.  He smiled and informed me that it was his fifth one 🙂  Husbands are fun.

This is what I did, and it made me 24 muffins. Most of which are gone…and it was just last night 😉

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Large Eggs (if your eggs are smaller, use 3)
  • 1 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 Cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 Cups shredded zucchini
  • 1 Cup shredded carrot
  • 1-2 Cups chocolate chips
  • Cinnamon Sugar for topping.
  • Chopped nuts (optional). I chopped some walnuts up and sprinkled them on top of half of them…I usually hate nuts in baked goods but the flavor complemented it SO good I highly recommend you do so as well!)

How it’s done:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Grease and flour (or use liners) 24 muffin cups.
  3. Beat oil, eggs, sugars, and vanilla.
  4. In a separate, large bowl stir together flour, soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  5. Stir dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  You wanna use a spoon, or add it gradual with the mixer or you will have a flour explosion in your face.
  6. Fold in the shredded zucchini and carrots, and chocolate chips 🙂
  7. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar and/or nuts 🙂  Please don’t skip the cinnamon sugar…it was my favorite part.  It made a nice crisp, sweet layer on top!
  8. Check at 22 minutes.  The middle is sneaky and stays soft for a while, so check in two-minute increments after that 🙂  You can do the ol’ toothpick in the center of the fattest one trick 🙂  If they are a little soft in the middle after you take them out, don’t panic! They will set up a small amount as they cool 🙂 If you leave them in the pan longer, they will cook longer even out of the oven.

Yummmm!

Can you see the little carrot shreds?  So moist and mildly sweet!

Leave a Reply

